Days of Summer

It’s tipping down with rain outside, but luckily I managed to get Maggie out for her second major walk of the day before it hit.
Stew today and tomorrow, so the minimum of fuss and preparation in the kitchen which is just as well as Hubby and I are still feeling the effects of MOHs ‘gift’. His name is SO mud!

The residents have a view of an almost empty basin now. Apart from the removal of a few more rotted pontoon fingers to the crane site, work has not progressed very much since my last post on the matter.
feb-1-bComing back to the boat, I saw the kingfisher and started thinking of warmer summer days, although it wasn’t actually cold.
It’s funny how the residents sometimes comment on seeing ‘a kingfisher’ over there.
Ask any boater on this side and they will always say they have seen ‘The Kingfisher’.

I don’t know very much about kingfishers, but believe like robins, they are territorial.
Isn’t it funny how some of the smallest birds sometimes have the biggest attitudes!
I have seen two in our basin, and as to whether they are a mating pair, I have no idea as I have never seen any young birds. Mind you, chicks are hardly likely to come calling on us as the adults can be elusive to begin with!
I never realised how small they were, or how vibrant their colours until we came here.

My Dad loved all wildlife, and one year I gave him a ‘foil’ picture of a kingfisher which had pride of place alongside his chair in the lounge.
kingfisher-printSimilar to this, foiled images were all the rage then, otters, rabbits, hedgehogs, birds, big cats, fantasy pictures of fairies and dragons, or moonlit skies, houses and cottages. All were available in a variety of sizes and priced to suit all pockets and taste.
I had a large print of a cheetah cub asleep on a bough. When we moved to the boat, there was nowhere to put it, and knowing how much Bro had always loved it, we took it out of the frame and posted it to NZ. I hope they managed to get it reframed OK.

There aren’t many birds about now though. Even the ducks and swans have gone somewhere else to take shelter I guess.

I took these pictures of The Kingfisher last year shortly after Hubby had treated me to a new camera.
So proud and beautiful.
perfect 2 perfect

Roll on Summer, and I’ll get some new shots.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Just a thought, life afloat, lifestyle, Marina, nature, observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Days of Summer

  1. How interesting to live on a boat and see all those lovely birds.

    • We have such an abundance of water fowl here, even egyptian geese/ducks. It’s wonderful to watch and have them as neighbours. The redwings are the latest to catch my attention. Th kingfisher likes to sit on the bow and wait to catch his supper. Fascintating to see that shot a vibrant blue flash past the window,

  2. nanny15 says:

    Used to always see Kingfishers as a kid, but now hard to find. Have only seen two in ten years where I live, their colours are so beautiful, I would love to photograph one. :).

  3. amommasview says:

    Love kingfishers 🙂

  4. They are such gorgeous birds – I never seem to see them, but I suspect that mostly has to do with not looking in the right places, as they definitely live here.

Leave a Reply

