Tuesday Photo Challenge – Color of Love

What is your Colour of Love I wonder?
https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/43011194/posts/1338609206

Check out the above post and join in this week’s challenge.

Many songs have been written about Love, and many about colour.
Two that come immediately to mind about both are ‘Love is Blue’ and ‘My Love is Like a Red Red Rose’.
With today being Valentine’s Day, the price of red roses have rocketed, and if you wanted to send a single rose to your loved one, I dread to think of the cost. single rose 2I remember the messengers at the bank having a field day should someone be sent flowers, especially on Valentine’s Day. They would walk them round all three floors of the office block teasing and tormenting so many hopefuls, before finally presenting the recipient with a flourish and wicked grin.

Hubby has given me a dozen roses today, six each of pink and red.
I love flowers, but roses are special to us for a different reason.
When my Dad died in 1996, Hubby and I laid two red roses with perfect blooms on his coffin in addition to the family tribute.
red roses for the dadsWhen Hubby’s Dad died in 2004, we did the same.
Red is such a vibrant colour don’t you think?
Representing the blood line, we passed on our love for them from this life to the next.

When my brother-in-law died in 2010, we laid two yellow roses on his casket.

yellow-rosesYellow represents the sun, and the light showing the way from one world to the next.

Red and yellow would therefore be my Colours of Love.

 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuesday Photo Challenge – Color of Love

  1. colinandray says:

    Roses certainly are beautiful flowers, but I cannot remember the last time that I bought any that had the rose scent, which is also beautiful. Must be the way they are forced grown perhaps? Mine in the garden small nice!

  2. ellenbest24 says:

    IMy sisters and I stuffed petals in jamjars with water and shook them for weeks everyone could tell when it was ready; because we smelled of piddly knickers. My daughter, at her wedding presented me with a yellow Austin rose for the garden. Old fashioned and full, smelling of vanilla and flowering from spring until autumn. Roses have a special place in my heart.

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Photo Challenge – Round Up 44 – Dutch goes the Photo!

Leave a Reply

