If I wasn’t, I am now!

Oh dear.
The day has not started well. Hubby is still poorly, and both of us had a restless night as every time he moved he either coughed, sneezed, farted (or a medley of the three), threw off the covers, or rolled over into them, which in turn disturbed me.
I’d taken Maggie out for her final wee at 7.45 in the hope of having an early night, even though I knew it could be asking for trouble and she may want to go out in the early hours.
Thinking it was about 6.30, I was going to get up to take her out, so Hubby turned on the light to discover it was only 3.15.
‘Go back to sleep Girl,’ I said, so she promptly flopped alongside me, curled up and was soon in doggy nod land.
sleeping maggieThis was taken in the cottage way back in 2013. Apart from the dog, we no longer own anything else in the picture!

As things turned out, I was up at 6.30 and walking her at 6.45 along the Avenue.
It was raining slightly, but at least there was no ground frost to worry about, and apart from one bedraggled soul in a cape, I saw no-one.
bat cape 2I’d asked Hubby to strip the bed while I was out so that I could take the laundry up when I got back, then return to the boat to collect the loo and empty that. My plan was that by the time I’d done all that, the wash would be finished and I could put it in the dryer, come home and have breakfast, then go up and collect it.
Oh, what a fool to plan.

Wheeling my little loo* trolley in the direction of the laundry, I noticed the lady we’d been chatting to a couple of weeks ago standing at the top of the gantry.
Oh joy (not). She had put her washing in the dryer ahead of me so I had to wait. As far as I know, she is not related to the Lady in Red, though they both live aboard widebeams.

As she approached the door, I suggested she not come in to chat as I had this bug and didn’t want her to get poorly again. Not only did she come in, but left the door wide open so that her cat could go in and out. I was glad Maggie was on the boat as this cat is her tormentor, and it couldn’t make up its mind whether to stay in or go out. I could’ve helped it decide I suppose (only joking my cat lover readers, only joking. I wouldn’t deliberately hurt an animal) and closed the door to persistent mewing to go out again.
kicked catHaving no option now but to make conversation, I asked how long she’d put her drying in for, and she said forty minutes. Believing half of that time frame had already passed, I settled down to wait and of course she started to talk to me.

For the next forty five minutes I heard all about her health problems, from nipple leaks to ECGs, weight issues and clothes, and as some of my readers had commented about food intolerances and allergies in the comments of my earlier post, I asked if she’s been checked out for those.
She was adamant (and a bit short with me actually) she didn’t have any, so I took that as she probably hadn’t asked to be tested.

Naturally we got on the subject of flu bugs, and she said she was still feeling ‘terrible’. She couldn’t shake off this chest infection which had come back three times now and had only managed to go back to work for a couple of days before she was taken ill again.
It also appears she had a heart scare last week and was rushed into hospital, so she has a new array of medication to pop, spray or rub in.
I can identify with that.

Usually, I am sympathetic to people’s problems, especially when they are not feeling well, but the conversation today has left me feeling downer than I already was, which I could put down to being tired as I haven’t had a good night’s sleep for almost a week now.
Also, I could not believe how silly she continues to be on cold and/or wet days.
I keep warm by dressing appropriately (today I was wearing thick joggers, socks, trainers, tee shirt, thick jumper, yellow jacket, gloves and hat). I do not go around  in slippers, cotton jimjams and a dressing gown, be it during the day or in the evening, in temperatures approaching zero degrees, even if I’m having a power surge!
Neither do I go out on the boat without the correct attire (read life jacket, waterproofs if necessary and sensible shoes) to stand on the bow like some kind of primamadonna figurehead in said jimjams and dressing gown as it’s taken round for a pump out (long live cassette loos* that’s all I can say, which is actually where we came in).
figureheadHubby says he doesn’t think they own a lot of clothes as apart from when they are in the car or going to and from it, we have only ever seen them in their nightwear. It ain’t pretty!

Still, on a happier note, the laundry is done, the cassette emptied, Maggie has been walked twice round the Avenue and already I’ve knocked up about 2½ miles in the walking stakes.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Dogs, life afloat, Maggie, My life, observations, Opinions, people and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I wasn’t, I am now!

  1. Hope your husband is feeling better soon.

    • Thanks Kate. He’s asleep now so that will definitely help. He seems to suffer more than I do these days and hopefully my ‘share’ will only amount to a headache and sniffle or two.

  2. DM says:

    tell hubby “hi”for me..push the fluids, make sure he wears his socks 🙂 Sorry about the energy sucking neighbor. You have more patience than I do.

    • Hi Doug. Message passed on with thanks. Kettle always on the go, so both of us are drinking plenty. Neighbour has now gone off in her car (dressed) so all being well I shouldn’t see her again today.

Leave a Reply

