True, False, or Misunderstood

Just a little thought for you, especially those of us on the diet merry-go-round.
diet balanceI was told, and honestly believed because it was a medical person who told me, that muscle weighs heavier than fat.
So in theory, by toning up the body and increasing our muscle tone whilst reducing our body fat, sometimes accounts for ‘plateau-ing’ or a small weight gain.

A new member of our group has been exercising religiously, but had a gain of two pounds this week.
Trying to be helpful, I said that as she was toning up, the muscle weighed heavier.
I apologise to all and sundry, but I have been informed that I was wrong, and that they weigh the same.

All this week I have been thinking about it.
Yeah, I know, that’s quite sad really but when I think of all the walking I do now and how my body shape has changed, have I been kidding myself when my weight loss has been less than expected?
diet joke 2We all know the ‘What weighs heavier, a ton of coal or a ton of feathers?’ question.
The answer is of course the same, One Ton.
But it’s the perceptive and volume content that confuses us.
To see a ton of coal and compare it to one of feathers, the piles are quite different in size as one for one, a feather is far lighter than a nugget of coal!
So if coal is muscle and feathers are fat, pound for pound they are indeed identical.

Going a stage further, what is more pleasurable to the eye (or stomach)?
pound of lard or cad choc

A pound of lard, or a pound of chocolate? I know what I’d rather have even if it is synful.

My thoughts have therefore led me to this.
Coal is denser than feathers, so it follows that if Muscle is denser than fat, less in number is required to make a pound compared to one of body fat.
Does that make sense?
Think I’ll go for a walk now.
diet-joke-2017

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in diary, health, Just a thought, miscellaneous, numbers, Uncategorized, weight issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to True, False, or Misunderstood

  1. nanny15 says:

    So, are you trying to say, now you have discovered your theory is false, you now have less muscle and more fat than before? Funny:)

    • I have no idea to be honest! My head has been doing the Exorcist (going round in circles) but my shape is definitely better for loss of the pounds so I guess as the fat goes, muscle muscles in. 🙂

  2. I was convinced of the muscle vs. fat theory years ago when I was an avid runner. I sprained my ankle and had to stop running for a few weeks. I lost 5 lbs, without modifying diet or lifestyle. I was sure I had lost muscle. Interesting ??

  3. scifihammy says:

    Well I also believe that muscle weighs more than fat for the same volume! Many years ago when I was young and slim, I increased my exercise routine. All my clothes still fit perfectly, but I did increase my muscle mass and gained 2 kg.
    I believe we also lose 5% muscle mass every 10 years, making it even harder to keep trim!

  4. losing and keeping weight off is such a pain in the arse, why cant lettuce taste like chocolate?

  5. I had always heard the same thing. It’s the thing that keeps you sane when the scale tips up.

  6. The Hook says:

    Is it bad I’m reading this while scarfing a donut?

  7. colinandray says:

    I have always understood that muscle weighs more than fat. I would suggest that anybody who has proven otherwise should include in their rationale exactly what they consumed during the exercising days, and also what time of day they were weighing themselves. There are so many variables involved that it really is not likely to be that “black and white”. Example: Water weighs heavy! If you are used to drinking water on a regular basis, then your body will only retain what it needs however, if you have just started a water program, then your weight will almost certainly increase because your body will retain all of it. It has learned from prior habits that water was not consumed too often, and it will take time to convince it otherwise! 🙂

    • It’s an interesting concept, and no wonder different diet programmes list different things for successful weight loss. I had a water retention problem and my GP said to drink more water! Sames goes for not eating enough when you’re dieting, but the question is of course enough of what exactly. All good comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

