Coats of Many Colours

Hubby loves Dolly Parton’s classic song Coat of Many Colours.
Walking the dog this morning in the snow (I kid you not) got me thinking of coats I have worn since a child.

My earliest memory is a ‘camel coat’, whether thus called because of the colour or because it was made from camel hair.
Mum has a picture of me somewhere wearing it with a parrot on my shoulder, I was about three or four.
coatsTake away the rabbit from this little girl’s arms, and my coat was pretty similar, being double-breasted with a belt. I was only allowed to wear it ‘for best’, but I don’t think I liked it very much, although I remember it being very warm!

School uniforms aside, I had an anorak, one of those ribbed nylon things that were shower proof but little else. Mine was navy blue and my sister’s red. Anoraks have come a long way since then, and I suppose the closest thing to it today would be a Puffer Jacket.

In 1973, I needed a new coat and Mum bought me some polyester number with a woolly lining. I felt like a troll, but it was warm, even if it was three sizes too big as I’d lost a lot of weight that year and Mum hadn’t noticed.
We were living with my grandfather and I had a two mile walk from the bus stop. It started to snow about twenty minutes from home, and by the time I got in, I was like the abominable snowman as apart from my nose and boots, you couldn’t see the rest of me for White!

In the mid seventies, I bought myself a black coat trimmed with (fake) fur round the bottom, cuffs, and hood similar to this.
hippie-coatI loved it, and it was the nearest I got to being a hippie. The zip broke (I admit because I started to put on weight with The Pill) so I took it out and attempted to replace it with toggles.
By the time I’d finished my modification, it still didn’t fit, so ended up in a charity shop.

I replaced it with a long flowing coat that was exceedingly flattering in its style. I lived in this one too until the lining fell apart, and its successor was a lovely emerald green wool coat with a fur collar. I never got the wear out of that as I’d kept it ‘for best’, and the daughter of a friend of the family was in desperate need of a coat, so it was passed on to her.

Since then, there has been a variety of jackets, anoraks, body warmers, fleeces, capes and waterproofs. Hubby’s Mum gave me a coat once because it was miles too long for her and although I didn’t really like it, it did me a turn as we were short of money. I was wearing it the day a shop assistant asked me when the baby was due, and I didn’t have the heart to tell her I was fat, not pregnant.
pregnant or fatI never wore it again and passed it on to a chairty shop.

I still have a ‘best coat’ though, and the last time I wore it was in February 2010 attending my brother-in-law’s funeral. When we arrived here, it, and Hubby’s best jacket, were both cleaned and have been vacuum sealed away. Before the wedding later this year, we will have to see if they still fit.

yellow wet gearAnd of course I mustn’t forget our wonderful fluorescent yellows which are water and wind proof so perfect in the snow flurry this morning.

note:
The snow started in the early hours when I heard icy stuff hitting the roof. Temperatures were due to drop to minus five between 3 and 6am, but when I got up at 7.30, there wasn’t a flake to be seen.
However, by the time I’d had a wash and got dressed to take Maggie out, it was falling again. It’s been like that all day, but hasn’t pitched.
Poor Hubby had a terrible night and isn’t at all well, so it’s been down to me to walk her and stock up with cough medicines etc. Lazy day in the kitchen today.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in clothes, Memories, My life, Walk Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coats of Many Colours

  1. Barb Knowles says:

    I remember in the late 60’s my parents bought me a coat I hated. It was okay for church (fancy and ugly and I wasn’t with my mother when she bought it) but I would have been really embarrassed wearing it to high school. I asked them to buy me a regular one for school that looked like everyone else’s. They refused. I couldn’t believe it. They had a lot of money so it wasn’t that. I really thought they would get it because I always had a church coat and a snow coat. But my father said to me that if I wanted a second coat I had to go earn the money to get it. And I did. I babysat until I had the money saved and proudly bought my coat. That’s the best lesson that my parents ever gave me. If you want something badly enough you’ll earn the money to get it.

  2. I love coats – it’s probably borne out of living somewhere you have to be wearing one most of the year. People are much more likely to see you in a coat than out of one!

Leave a Reply

