Wakey Wakey

For some unknown reason I have been awake since about 2am, my mind full of Smokie’s ‘I’ll Meet You at Midnight’ from 1976.
I hate that.
Not the song, it was one of my favourites from that year, but being awake when I know damn well I should be in the land of nod and unable to return there.
After our trip to MOH yesterday, I was tired when we went to bed so should have slept like a log. It wasn’t even that cold, despite temperatures due to drop to minus 2.
Maggie was shivering, but that wasn’t what woke me.
Hubby was snuffling in his sleep, and it wasn’t that either.

I sat up, and in the darkness, could just make out the shape of Maggie’s head as she looked at me, but she soon settled again.
At 3.15, Hubby realised I was awake, and asked if I wanted to get out of bed.
I got up, and still restless decided to get dressed. Maggie was now standing poised by the door, so I took her for a walk.
Obviously the marina was quiet, save for the distant whooshing noise of the traffic from the M5 which we can hear in the silence or when the wind is in a certain direction.
It was surprisingly mild, and Maggie was off like a shot down the dog walk.
I knew what that meant.
Somewhere in the bushes she would have been sick.

The marina is quite well lit at night, though obviously for finding ‘the business’ I need a torch. The boats up on their stands looked like a set of uneven teeth in the half light.
river-blocks marina-blocksThese photos were taken in November when they were emptying the basin for work due to commence in December.

The place was deserted as everyone else was comfortably tucked up in bed, but Hubby had made a cuppa by the time I got back at 4, so we had breakfast. He too had been unable to get back to sleep so had got up and dressed. He took Maggie out at 5.30 and put the laundry in (that’ll confuse The Lady in Red and scupper her plans lol).
I was out again at 6.00 as Maggie seemed desperate to go, so I walked her round the Avenue. By the time I got back, the washing had finished so I put it in the dryer.
It was chillier now, but still no sign of any frost or thankfully, rain.
Back at the boat, within ten minutes Hubby needed the loo, and five minutes after he left, her ladyship wanted to go out AGAIN! I was getting really cheesed off now as she only did a wee the previous time. This time she did NOTHING, so we’ve had a little debate (which she lost) and she is now curled up on her blanket in the corner. She can’t help feeling poorly, and we’ve put a scrambled egg down to help settle her tummy. Sadly she hasn’t touched it yet.

Getting crabby is a sure sign I’m tired, so all being well I’ll be able to go back to bed sometime in the afternoon for a power nap. That’s OK provided I can switch off in the first place!
crabby 2

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Maggie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wakey Wakey

  1. Poor Maggie. Hope it’s not serious. Perhaps you were too wound up from the visit to sleep? Afternoon nap sounds good.

    • I have a feeling MOH gave her one of Bud’s treats which tend to be too rich for her. What with that and the journey, plus she doesn’t eat when we travel, and we all got cold yesterday afternoon, she may well have caught a chill. Glad to say the ends have now gone, and she has managed to sleep for a few hours. My turn next. ZZZzzzzzzz

  2. I hope Maggie is feeling better by now!

Leave a Reply

