A Full Heart

I am sure all of us at some time or another have seen, or heard, something that makes our heart swell to such an extent, we are overcome with emotion.
hand heartThis can simply be laughter from a children’s playground, a baby’s giggle, the antics of a pet, a piece of music, poetry, perhaps a letter or surprise visit from friends or a loved one.

The other day I got back to the boat and felt all mushy.
That’s the only way I can describe it, but it was a heart warming mushiness, though Hubby got a little anxious when I teared up.

I had been up to the ladies, and on the way back, the top of the dog walk was full of redwings. I did a post about them the other day and how many we saw in the Avenue, but I saw as many, if not more, here and stopped in wonder (google images) to watch.
redwing-2 redwing
To see so many in such close proximity, I cursed for not having my camera, but the feel good factor just rocketed off the scale watching these beautiful birds foraging in the grass for grubs.

I passed by without them taking flight and made my way back to the boat.
Half way down the pontoon, I saw the little wren that is making her nest under the walkway. Again, she didn’t fly away as I passed.
Not for them warm and dry lodgings or all mod cons in a cosy boat or house.

Today I saw the wren again (google image below), and she had nesting materials in her beak. Nice to know Maggie’s discarded fur is being put to good use.
wren

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, Just a thought, life afloat, Marina, My life, nature, observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Full Heart

  1. The fur used in the nest…perfect recycling !

  2. Sounds like a bird-style luxury furnished apartment in progress – with a water view!

  3. I get all soggy eyed for the slightest reason. Animals especially touch me. Last year some field mice used Hazel’s (my cat) dense undercoat fur that was combed out in clumps to “feather” their nest. So sweet.

  4. nanny15 says:

    Its so surprising the things you see in nature when you regularly take time to notice. After ignoring birds making a big noise in the garden recently, I finally went to look. Thrushes in groups were bombing and swooping down on the cat from tree branches. Must have been a nest nearby, He soon got the message lol.

Leave a Reply

