What do you do?

That is an interesting question.
And one to which I don’t have an interesting answer I’m afraid.

Making small talk at the Queen’s Sapphire Jubilee celebration, it seems the residents think we are older than we are, as I was asked if I could remember what I was doing when it was announced King George VI had died.
queenI had to reply that I hadn’t been born yet, which raised a few smiles, and although I couldn’t recall what I was doing when Kennedy was shot, I can remember exactly where I was when they said on the radio that Elvis Presley had died.

I knew a lot of people by sight who all seemed to know us too but not our names.
One particular gentleman seemed fascinated that we lived on our boat. By all accounts he and the family had hired one for holidays and travelled the canals (which we haven’t yet) but had never thought what it would be like to live permanently aboard.
He asked what I did when I was not aboard, and you know I had to answer, ‘Not a lot.’

I must come across as quite a bore at parties, as although I can usually hold my own in conversation, I don’t seem to do very much with my time.
I mean, I don’t work, voluntary or otherwise, and we don’t have a TV so can’t comment on recent programmes or the Soaps. If we’re not aboard, we’re doing mundane things like shopping or walking the dog, and I have my Slimming World meeting once a week.
Admittedly these past few weeks have been spent going to and from the hospital, we’ve had a few meals out, met up with N and her husband for coffee a couple of times, played scrabble with MSM, and hopefully this week will be going down to see MOH as we haven’t seen him since Christmas.
maggie and marina 9 5Photo: our marina basin (and Maggie) before work commenced on the other side.

Here on the marina, we converse with everyone we see, and of course everyone makes a fuss of Maggie, so we’re not exactly isolated or standoffish.

When we are aboard, we clean, prepare, cook and eat our meals, blog, read, write (letters or poetry), I make my cards, and Hubby does the maintenance. We also sleep very well!
If we have visitors, the kettle is always put on, and cups of tea/coffee on offer, biscuits if I have them, a meal or cake if I know they’re coming, though I’m sure I could rustle up something even if I didn’t!
If we go anywhere in the boat, we operate locks, take photos, stop and admire the wildlife and our surroundings, then settle down for a peaceful night out on the river.

Our days go by very quickly, yet no two are identical and we are rarely bored. I guess that’s a good thing.
hazy-sunset-combertoncomperton bowPhotos: two views of Comberton Quay on our travels.

So, how do you spend your ‘free time’?

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in Just a thought, life afloat, lifestyle, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What do you do?

  1. cindy knoke says:

    You have found peace, contentment and personal meaning. Well Done!

  2. colinandray says:

    I am up at 5:00am…. go back to bed around10:00pm, and the days just fly by. I do whatever I want, and get paid at the end of every month for doing it. Life is good!

  3. I hate to get that question. As a retired person people seem to think that I have tons of time. I don’t. I don’t have “exciting” answers for them either. I do things more leisurely. I write and garden in good weather. I do things I want to do and no two are alike. My days are full. Yet people seem disappointed. Perhaps next time I’m asked, I’ll say I’m working on world peace.

  4. I’m not much at parties or social events…I mean few of them dig in the dirt, walk dogs and converse with those doing the same or rescue lizards from too large dog paws. The best part is being totally flexible about what gets done.
    Living on a boat means lots going on…just not the routine!

  5. My dad used to say that he had never been as busy as he was when he had retired. I couldnt understand that at the time but now … I totally get it. What do I do when I have downtime? I blog! How often have I had downtime recently? Not very often lol and that’s a great thing!

  6. Free time? What is this free time of which you speak?

    (Namely, I fill every moment with something – blogging, reading, writing, walking Choppy, going out, going on vacation, etc.)

Leave a Reply

