Dessert Course: Weigh In Week Eight

I have been trying to give myself incentives this week by reading my earlier successful posts, SW positive quotes, and banning all the bad stuff from the shopping list.

diet-quote-humour
Condensation issues apart, I have been throwing a lot of veg together in my direction, and if I’m honest, enjoying myself a little in a culinary way.
Like salad stuff though, veg gets pretty boring pretty quick, so already I am envisioning the new kitchen layout and Hubby fulfilling his promise of a microwave-cum-oven. I can then do baked things with veggies and try those SW wedges!
Sure I could’ve used the oven here, but that condensation thing with no cooker hood could be catastrophic.
Veg prices here are beginning to rocket in the shops, that is if the shelves haven’t been stripped by panic buyers in the first place. I saw a headline yesterday that someone paid Ā£500 for an iceberg lettuce. Fool.
vegI have been quite content to pick up a tray of prepared cauliflower and broccoli florets for about a pound which will last me 3 days. Hopefully I will still be able to get them, as you can see by my meal photos I’ve had them a lot this week, and by tossing in a few carrots and tomatoes, I’ve had a full set of traffic lights on my plate.

Now the concept of that was good:

traffic-light-diet

Labels on foods try to guide us all in the right direction, but things like fruit I prefer to buy loose so that I can select my own rather than buy a pack where there is at least one ‘iffy’ one that gets thrown out before it’s affected the others.
I’m expecting to see massive red STOP sign over the chocolate and pastries counters as some idiot’s expert’s next idea to tackle the obesity issue.

But all joking aside, the gloves are off again and I’m back in the driving seat of the WCV (Weight Control Vehicle)
diet battle temptation

So, after my care and committment to the cause, how did I do this week?
pleaseHurrah!
I lost a pound and a half, so still entitled to my 2Ā½ stone certificate!
N got her 5Ā½ stone tonight, and is now half a pound lighter than I am. I am so pleased for her! She is just two pounds away from her target now, whereas I still have a fair way to go.

smiley wink high five thumbs up smile

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dessert Course: Weigh In Week Eight

  1. colinandray says:

    WOOT! WOOT! BOL! BOL! Congratulations. Me and him! šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  2. nanny15 says:

    That’s great!!! but remember, its about playing the ‘long game’ for keeps, so ups and down have to be baked in until you find the best for your body. šŸ™‚

    • Oh I know. I’m doing Ok though and my eating habits have changed considerably since I joined SW. Losing that final half stone is going to be tough, but I know I can do it, and then it’s a case of maintaining it and keeping up the new good habits.

      • nanny15 says:

        Yes, I was just saying, allow yourself to be ok with losing a few battles on the way to wherever the goal is that you’ll be happy. šŸ™‚

      • No problems, I always appreciate someone else’s view as they can probably see things I don’t! I’m convinced that the reason it’s working for me this time is because my attitude is different and I know that food issues is a lifetime committment for healthier living.

  3. scifihammy says:

    Congrats! šŸ™‚ It is soooo hard to keep up a boring diet. Good for you for managing to mix it up.

Leave a Reply

