Back to Basics

This is my first full week of Slimming World without any radiotherapy treatment.
I have made a serious effort to get back on track, but as we were celebrating Ns birthday in the coffee shop on Friday, we decided to modify our daily syns for the week accordingly. Wednesday I had no syns at all and Thursday I succumbed to a chocolate bar (9 syns).
cafe-chocolat
Over the weekend I was careful though, recording everything in my food diary, making sure all of my syns were listed and my meals had the necessary 1/3 of a plate of speed food.
I succeeded 95% of the time, probably because of our two-day vegetable stew.

Obviously Speed Food should not be confused with Fast Food, but in the kitchen this week I have been steaming extra veggies for me whilst giving Hubby some of his favourites.
My scales have forgiven me and showing kindness by a downward motion, so I am hoping for an official loss this week.
weight jokeThe boat has been awash with condensation recently. It hasn’t helped that our sliding kitchen windows have been temporarily doubled glazed for the winter, and if I cook anything in a saucepan for more than a few minutes, the steam is a nightmare to dispense.
It has been getting to both of us, so in trying to keep that under control, steaming veg for one in the microwave has been a good move. Not only does it keep the flavour in, but also the colour. I do so like my meals to be colourful!

Keeping up my exercise has also been important, and the yellow coats were out midweek when we had some of the heaviest rainfall for a while. Rain or shine, Maggie still has to have her walks as we have no back garden as such to let her out in.
Obviously when she overstretched herself the other day, walks were reduced but she still had them, just not so far. On average though, I have still managed around 3 miles a day.

In trying to combat the sweet cravings of late, I bought two boxes of Slimming World Hi-Fi light bars at the meeting last week.
rocky roadHubby likes them too, and at only 3 syns each, I could have 2 as my healthy B option, but prefer to have one as a treat and keep cereal for my option B. It’s helped ….. a little.

I am trying to plan ahead, even if it is just for the following day, rather than umming and aahing with indecision. Sticking to three meals a day rather than picking is half the battle.
This week I have avoided bread, grapes, granola cereal, latte coffee every day (on the way to the hospital), biscuits, jaffa cakes, prawn crackers, desserts (other than fresh fruit).
I have however had latte coffee twice, the above Hi-fi bars (shared with Hubby), cake, chocolate, muesli for breakfast some days and a meringue.

Tonight (Monday) saw us going to the Queen’s Sapphire Jubilee celebration up the road.
Hubby and I had already had our main meal at 1pm. He fancied a ready-made cottage pie, and I had a jacket potato with a JW salmon fusion. We both had broccoli, cauliflower and carrots (and a steamy boat).
Note to self: Must get microwave steamer container suitable for two.
I took in a tray of cup cakes for the table even though a finger buffet was provided. There was a wide array to choose from, and I tried to be practical. I hope I haven’t blown it too much after my efforts this week.
There were charity collection boxes for donations, so I emptied my purse of shrapnel.

These are meals from the boat kitchen this week (no particular order).

feb-chicken-and-rice feb-fish-jacket feb-fruit-salad feb-jw-jacket feb-mushroom-omelette feb-omelette feb-spag-bol feb-tomato-pasta

1st row: chicken and rice, JW sweet chilli salmon jacket potato
2nd row: muesli fruit salad dessert, JW teriyaki salmon jacket potato
3rd row: mushroom omelette, ham and mushroom omelette,
4th row: spaghetti bolognese, tomato and ham pasta.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in diary, food, Just a thought, weight issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Basics

  1. Pingback: Dessert Course: Weigh In Week Eight | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

