A Right Turn Off.

Hubby and I used to listen to the radio a lot, either in the morning getting ready for work or in the evenings in the cottage having no TV.
Since being in the boat, I have listened to precisely one CD (OK it was on continuous play for the dog through fireworks when Hubby was away for a few days in 2014) and the radio goes on for the news. After five minutes, it gets switched off.

In the car, we have the radio on for traffic reports on long journeys, but for the short-haul into town or to the hospital recently, we don’t bother.
Why?

BECAUSE MUSIC TODAY IS CRAP.
Common carp (Cyprinus carpio)I said CRAP, not carp.

And even worse, it is REPETITIVE crap.

Way back in 1970 when T-Rex hit the top of the charts with Ride a White Swan, the song was referred to as the Radio One tuning note.
Today, our ‘chart busters’ are either all one chord, all one word/phrase, or consist of one bar, which may or may not change tempo.

It’s DULL.
It’s UNINSPIRING.
It’s WAILING on speed.

singing-whaleI said Wail, not Whale.

I wrote this post  three years ago, but today it’s not a case of similarity in melody, but getting stuck in the groove because no-one knows how to progress.
music 2

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in humour, Just a thought, music, Opinions, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Right Turn Off.

  1. scifihammy says:

    I think there are few singers these days, who can actually sing! I know times change, but today’s music really isn’t musical.
    I used to listen to the radio in the car for 40 minutes every morning driving to work. It was entertaining. Can’t say the same for today.
    Oh, now I have one CD in my car, that just keeps playing. 🙂

  2. You need a good oldie station. Sometimes I worry about getting disconnected with current things because I avoid news (for obvious reasons) and prefer old sitcoms and oldie stations. OMG! I’m turning into my Mom!

  3. Music today really is bad – I listen to a lot of the radio, but it’s almost all sports talk radio or channels with old music.

Leave a Reply

