A Different View

I’ve said before how I never thought joining a Group for weight loss would work for me after my disastrous and soul destroying membership of The Opposition in the late 1990s.

In our group, everyone is supportive and friendly.
One of the hardest things is going somewhere new where you don’t know anyone.
N and I believe that if we hadn’t struck up a friendship, the chances are we would have given up after our initial twelve weeks.

Speaking with someone today who is getting married later this year, she thought I was a good spokesperson for SW and may well sign up.
sw-quote-5 sw-quote-4 sw-quote-3

Now the other day I was talking to a lady in a shop who had joined SW in October with a couple of her friends. They all had losses in the first couple of weeks, but since then have been yo-yoing and have now lost heart, so she has decided not to go anymore.
It turns out she lost over 5 stone with The Opposition several years ago and managed to keep it off until recently, so whether she and her friends intend to join the local group for that now wasn’t made clear.
However, the one common thing about any weight loss programme, group or otherwise, is how we look at food and I don’t mean from the fridge door or drooling at the cake counter.
kermitThe lassie I was talking to today is unhappy at the thought of lettuce and all things green, counting calories, weighing everything she eats, and depriving herself of the things she loves, already convinced she is doomed to failure before she’s had her first meeting.
I’ve tried a variety of diets over five decades, and quite honestly, I think the reason this is working for me now is not just my age, but that my attitude to food is different.
If nothing else, I have learnt that it’s not just balance you need to get right, but ratios.
I confess I do not weigh or measure anything, neither do I calorie count, but I do make different choices, and that is the key to success, making healthier choices whilst still enjoying my food.
ham-salad-oct hot-salad

I got fed up with salads, though lettuce will not be on my shopping list anyway if the price continues to rise. I bought a whole cucumber today for different ‘greens’ having got bored with peppers. I discovered last year that by slicing it into batons as I did my carrots and cooking them, I had texture, colour and taste on my plate with no syn value.
My meal today was all the right white stuff, chicken, rice and cauliflower, so broccoli and carrots added colour to stop complete food snow blindness.
I’ve also found that by taking a picture of my meal, I can see what I’m eating, or more importantly, how much!

Everyone is different though, but one of the best preparation tools I did when I started with SW in June was to read the literature given and mark everything I liked/bought/ate.
The next day, I made a list of free foods, speed foods, and my common syn foods in the front of my food diary. There is also the backup of their on-line food planner with recipes, ideas, and those all important syn values.
Old habits die hard, but by making new ones and sticking to them makes it easier to become the norm.

We all have lapses, where we eat more of the goodies/naughties than we should, but provided this does not become a normal habit, it’s not all doom and gloom.

My latest strategy is planning.
Knowing there are forthcoming events, like a wedding in July, birthday celebrations, an anniversary dinner, or even a potential takeout for Valentine’s Day, by planning ahead and working those ‘intended lapses’ into my food plans, although the weekly loss may not be as much as I hoped, it may not be as disappointing as it could have been.

There is no quick fix to permanent weight loss.
You have to work at it, understand your eating habits, and make different choices.
Like a relationship, you don’t get anything out unless you put something in.
With food, it’s a question of not putting so much in to get the best out of ourselves.
My opinion of course.

I’ll close with these to make you smile.
love-food

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, friends, health, Just a thought, lifestyle, Opinions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Different View

  1. The thing about dieting is that it’s a life long change of habits. Too many people think it’s temporary until you lose, then you can go back to your old habits.

    • I found with the liquid diets and such that the lost weight went back on quicker with a few more pound chums. The old weight is the hardest stuff to shift, and I am down to extra weight that has been with me since my twenties. I’m trying to be realistic in where I’m going, and although the recent gains have knocked me back a bit, Christmas proved what went on quick, came off quick. I gained four pounds and lost four and a half the following week!
      Diet is a change of food habits, but at least it’s not the nightmare I remember from all those years ago.

  2. You do get tired of munching those salads, but it’s healthy.
    I love your observation/taking picture of meals. Great point and suggestion!

    • It seems to be working anyway, though too much salad for me leads to water retention. Logic says if I can see the plate, my portion is OK, if I can’t, too much! Truth is all in the eating though, and not feeling hungry after you’ve finished. Veg stew today.

Leave a Reply

