Tell Me a Tale in 120 words: February

I’m finding lots of prompt ideas lately, and as many are limited words or characters, they are quite a challenge to a type gusher like me!

Welcome to February 2
Today’s prompt is:  Your worst dream/nightmare/daydream

https://rantingalong.wordpress.com/2017/02/02/joelles-tales-first-thursday-of-the-month-tmat120-writing-prompt-for-february/

tmat120-logo
In unfamiliar surroundings, its presence lures me down into the dark well.
The stone steps disappear into shadow, my footfalls silent as I descend.
Light quickly fades, the air is stifling, fetid, poisoned and thick.
Sweat pours from my body saturating my clothes in fear.
My hair sticks to my scalp and the back of my neck.
But I cannot resist, and continue down into the Belly of Hell.
A voice calls from the depths.
I feel hands reaching out from the walls.
Holding me, trapping me, keeping me from running.
I feel the terror choking me and let forth a pleading wail for mercy.
It is my screams that awaken me.

When I had this dream, it frightened the life out of Hubby as he tried to comfort and reassure me. I awoke shaking like a leaf, everything still vivid.
We talked about it, having no idea what may have triggered it. I haven’t had it, or anything similar, since.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge, prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tell Me a Tale in 120 words: February

  1. That is a really disturbing dream!

  2. Reblogged this on ladyleemanila and commented:
    120 words challenge 🙂

  3. That was short, but intense.

  4. floridaborne says:

    Those are 112 of the most powerful words! And in italic to set the mood!

    I think my heart has stopped pounding now.

  5. amommasview says:

    Well done! What a fantastic post!!!

  6. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week 2017 – #5 | A Momma's View

  7. Pingback: February Writers of the #TMAT120 | Two on a Rant

Leave a Reply

