Deja Vu in the High Street

Hubby did a favour for a friend yesterday so I was left to my own devices for an hour or so.
Actually, I had over five hours to myself, and got quite busy!

I walked Maggie first thing on my own, doing the figure of eight round the Avenue, so clocked up around a mile and a half.
Back at the boat we had breakfast, then Hubby set off with the car.
Looking at the weather site, I thought I’d walk up to the Bank as I had some transfers to do, plus I wanted to get some laces for my trainers.  The laces in them are forever coming undone (unless I tie a double knot) and I either fall over them or stand on them and then fall over.
trainersYou would not believe the problem I have had trying to find FLAT laces of 100cm in black, brown or blue (my trainers are dark blue but it wouldn’t have mattered), and there is no way I was prepared to pay nearly four quid for a pair from some creepy condescending salesman who had just told me there was no such thing (as I held up a pack off a rack of plenty) and I would have to have round ones.
From the pound shop I could’ve got a pair in white (too bright) but if I wanted round laces as I already had, I was spoilt for choice.

I checked my bank account then walked back via the market and picked up a pair of flat laces for 50p (they were a bit too long, but Hubby has fixed that, sealing the ends with heat shrink to stop them fraying, and they are just perfect).
I got to the marina gate and realised I had not done the thing I went to the bank for, so decided to walk back giving anyone in the High Street a sense of Deja Vu as I retraced my steps.
So, a very tired Maggie and I arrived back at the boat some 2½ miles later, after passing a rather interesting thing on the way (post will follow).

I did a bit of blogging, had a spot of lunch, and then as the WIFI signal was iffy (lunchtime in the office so games time) I decided to grab the camera and go for yet another walk with the dog.
In all, I walked almost five miles yesterday, ate sensibly and got some photos for blogging fodder.
Spring is in the air, or should I say bursting forth from the ground as I saw these snowdrops and crocuses on the way.
crocuses snowdrops-2

Maggie likes to smell the flowers, and I took these pictures in June 2015.
maggie and flower  maggie and flower 2

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in change, Dogs, Maggie, nature, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Deja Vu in the High Street

  1. I wish spring was around the corner. It snow again today and still have about 5/7 inches on the ground. like your pictures.

  2. It sounds like the sort of day that actually does you good… you got some great exercise as did the dog.. I am with you on the laces.. good find and you saw spring.. something that has not raised its head yet with us… enjoyed it thanks.

  3. You are ahead of us weather wise. It’s been mild here but February is our snowy month. I hate round shoe laces. They don’t work!

    • February and March were the wettest and coldest months for us last year. We had an awful ot of rain fall last night, and the water level has risen considerably to 2.638m and still rising, although we aren’t in the red yet.

  4. Spring! It exists somewhere! I am so jealous!

Leave a Reply

