Bird Watch

I have only done the RSPB garden watch here once, but that doesn’t mean I don’t notice our feathered friends around us.
This past weekend was wet, windy and cold, so the thought of sitting in the car with a restricted view for an hour didn’t appeal, and looking out of our windows would have given me even less of an area to scan.
Saying that though, when I participated in January 2015, I’d seen my first ever bullfinch (google image here).
bullfinch 1Since then, I have been blessed to see swallows close up (my pictures)
swallows am 11 6 swallows 23 5 swallow close am 11 6
a kingfisher (my pictures)
perfect perfect 2
as well as ducks, geese, moorhens, egyptian geese/ducks, cormorants, herons and these
four cygnets which I snapped today 1st February 2017.
swans-1st-febHubby and I were walking back from town one day a little while ago and saw a bird we had never seen before.
It was about the size of a blackbird or song thrush, but had a red flash on its side and a white flash across its eye.
Looking it up, I discovered it was a Redwing (google images here).
redwing-2 redwing

Aren’t they beautiful?
Walking around the Avenue a few days later, we saw at least ten of them on the green.
And speaking of green, we also have a green woodpecker making the rounds at the bottom of the dog walk (another google image here).
green woodpeckerAll this in my own ‘back garden’.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, life afloat, lifestyle, Marina, My life, nature, observations, swans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bird Watch

  1. I love watching the birds – I feel like I have a very low level of knowledge as to what they are, thought. I can name the birds who come to our bird feeders, the typical ones for our area, and thanks to living on the pond/river, a larger number of water birds than I could two years ago. I’m working on some bird songs right now – I downloaded some bird sounds and listen to those daily, in the hopes that if I can hear some more birds this summer and recognize them. Right now, the number I can do that with is very limited (and sometimes is like, ‘it’s a duck!,’ which is not really helpful).

  2. kiwinana says:

    Nice, it makes you feel good when you see bird life in your day. I can sit at the window and watch them for hours especially in late spring feeding their young on the lawn. Have a nice day.

  3. Lucky you! I remember seeing whole flocks of bullfinches when I was a kind in the 1970s but then there were millions of swallows then too…

  4. Pingback: A Full Heart | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

