The Penultimate Visit

And so we see the end of Booster Treatment number four.
Everyone has said to expect the tiredness, but in some instances, a lot can be attributed to the journey there and back. We have heard stories of husbands being unable to park, dropping off the wife, driving around for a bit then picking them up just ten minutes later.
I wish.
We allowed ourselves plenty of time today, even sufficient to stop for coffee en route and still arrived before midday for my 12.20 appointment.
The chalk board had a new message on it:
“See screen for timetables”, so as we sat down to wait, we watched the ‘Big Screen’ of some very pretty pictures and totally irrelevant headlines running underneath them.
Eventually, it came up that the Consultants (by name) were running up to an hour late, but the linac machines for radiotherapy were all running to time.
That was odd, as it was 12.45.

By 12.50, I asked a guy coming out of the department if they were running late.
He asked me my name and within a minute or so called us into the inner waiting room saying they were just prepping the machine for me.

I was seen by the same two girls I met on Friday, who apologised for the delay. All is looking good, the blotchiness is as expected, no broken skin, and I am ‘cooking’ well.
I was swabbed underneath for some extra protection as the previous series of treatments is still working. This had all been explained to me before when the girls had used a spray on this area providing an additional protective screen for 72 hours, so I didn’t need to lube that bit. The swab works in the same way, and I have been given another to use after my next shower. I’m red and sore but still intact, though I can expect it to get worse.
As for the blue kissing machine, it’s right that it’s so close, but it will never touch me.

pink-butterfly-2I came out feeling relatively OK, but by the time we got to the car, I was exhausted.
Dinner today was easy, and tomorrow we are thinking of going out for a meal after my treatment to celebrate it being the last one.
I have been touched that so many of our friends have kept up with my schedule and sent messages of good wishes now the end is in sight. Their support has been tremendous.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in current events, diary, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Penultimate Visit

Leave a Reply

