First of Five

They were right when they said it was big and blue.
I had the first of my final five treatments on Friday, different machine, different room, different team.
radiotherapyThe shape is the same, but this one is blue all over, not just the knobs.
I had to lie on my side and using the template from my God appointment, my skin was marked accordingly so that they could ‘home in’.
The original treatment had the machine going round me, but this one has an attachment that joins the dots sotospeak and stays still. Whereas the other machine was about six to ten inches from my body, this one is only about 4.

I have a lot going for me insomuch as my skin is in good condition and the water based cream is doing its job in keeping it hydrated.
Cooking time is only about a minute and not set by a timer as such, but a loaded dose.
It doesn’t hurt, but does start to tingle pretty rapidly!
I was told to expect to be more tender, sore, and ‘tanned’ as the rays are direct and concentrated, so after just one treatment, I am feeling a difference. The square area treated has already turned a darker shade of mottled and is tender to touch.

I have taken to wearing one of my old and bigger bras in bed at night because I get so hot, and those extra couple of inches help keep the chaffing down.
I have one treatment every day next week until Thursday. This could well be the worst time of all, but who knows.
Then it’s all over.
pink-ribbon-2
Apparently I can expect to still feel the effects of treatment up to three weeks after it’s finished, then a further six weeks or so before the tiredness begins to abate.
I’ll be given another appointment with God (or hopefully one of his associates) for six weeks after my last session, then it’s full recovery and regular check ups all the way.

The timeframe has been a little under five months:
Detection 19th September, surgery 31st October, final radiotherapy session 26th January.
All on the NHS.
Thank you.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, health, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First of Five

  1. scifihammy says:

    Sounds like it is all going well, if rather sore.
    Wishing you all the best as you complete your treatment and head towards the All Clear soon. 🙂

  2. Side effects from radiation can go on for years. About 3 years out (all healthy at that point) I had severe pain by my ribcage. MRI showed that my ribcage was fractured. As I didn’t do anything to cause it, it was from the radiation damage. I’m 13 years out and other than a crinkly boob and thick scar I don’t get any of that anymore. Good luck to you and maybe it was a good thing to have one and then a weekend to recuperate before going on to the rest.

    • Thanks Kate. We were warned about possible ribcage fractures later on that could come back to the radiotherapy. Let’s hope I do OK.
      The schedule was all predetermined, apart from a couple of time changes, and has all worked out rather well. No doubt four heavy treatments in a row may knock me back a bit, but I know I have been extremely lucky. I have a mottled boob (slightly misshapen at the moment) , and my scar is defining but may fade to be mistaken for a crease in my skin!
      Once again, thank you so much for all of your positive feedback since all this started for me.

Leave a Reply

