A Pepper too far

Yep, food diary entry again. Sorry.
I’ve stopped buying packs of peppers as Hubby is not really a fan, and quite honestly, after a few days with the same speed food on my plate, I got a bit sick of them myself. Instead I only buy one, and last week I was sure I’d bought red so got a pack of snap peas which had been reduced to go with it .
peppersOops.  My pepper in the fridge was green, so no other colour for my plate. Dammit.
Never mind, I had some mushrooms, carrots and tomatoes, so I was sure I could put something together.
chicken-dinnerI decided to forgo the pepper anyway and this was my resulting dinner.
Hubby just had plain boiled rice with his chicken breast as he was feeling a little ‘icky’.

Today, I discovered the remains of my pepper and snap peas. They seemed OK, so as Hubby fancied a jacket potato with some cheese for his dinner today and that had to be used up too, I thought I’d join him.
snap-peasBy finely grating the cheese, it makes it look a lot more than the weight it actually is which is good from a visual point of view.
With SW, if 30g of cheese is not your A option for the day, then 25g of cheddar will cost you 5 syns. I steamed my carrot, mushrooms, pepper and snap peas (all free and speed food) in the microwave.
I confess I fished out the pepper as it didn’t taste right though the rest of the meal was fine.
Oh well, time will tell, and we all need a bit of ‘extra roughage’ sometimes!

Shopping tomorrow, and peppers will not be on the list.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in diary, food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Pepper too far

  1. My husband will not eat peppers or anything that contains them. I miss them although I occasionally throw in my salad. As you say, a little goes a long way.

    • I’ll add some to my bolognese dishes or sweet and sours, and sometimes in a salad just to pack it out. Salads are off the menu for the minute as it’s too cold, so it’s all veg stews twice a week, but they are always pepperless.

  2. I have wanted to like peppers for a long time – they add so much color to things. I’ve gotten so I can eat a few small pieces, but anything more than that is just too much. I just don’t like the taste!

Leave a Reply

