Tale Weaver #103: Through a Child’s Eyes 19.01.17

So many wonderful prompts to choose from this week. It’s certainly keeping my mind alert!

The Challenge:
I’d like you to weave a tale from the perspective of a child – your inner child, or someone else’s (as always not necessarily human). Use age appropriate thought patterns, reasoning and language. Don’t impose adult rationalities (or irrationalities) upon your child or your tale.
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2017/01/19/tale-weaver-103-through-a-childs-eyes-19-01-17/

eyes-of-a-childimage by Emma Frances Logan Baker

‘ Mummy, who’s that man over there? I’ve seen him every day and he looks so sad.
Shall I go and say hello?’
Danny got a nod from his mother and ambled over to the bench, looking down at his feet as he scuffed them in the leaves on the way.
Shyly, he approached the old man, then sat down beside him, swinging his legs to and fro as they didn’t reach the floor.
‘Hello,’ he said politely. ‘My name’s Danny and I’m 6. What’s your name?’
Bushy eyebrows turned towards him and smiled.
‘Arthur. How do you do.’
Danny laughed.
‘That’s something my Daddy would say! You’re awfully old aren’t you.’
His new friend chuckled.
‘How observant for someone so young! I am indeed very old’.
‘Is that why you’re sad? Because you’re old and your skin needs ironing? You must be nearly a hundred! I’ve never met anyone that old.  I’ve seen pictures of things that are old, much older than you I espect. My Mummy usually tells me off for talking to strangers, but today she didn’t seem to mind. She’s not old. Well, she’s older than me, she’s my Mummy, but she doesn’t have droopy skin under her chin like you, and her hair is brown, not white. Why is your hair white? Did all the colour come out when you washed it? In some of my pictures if you’re old, you don’t have any hair at all! Or teeth! Do you have teeth? I mean, are they in your mouth or do you keep them in a jar so that they smile at you across the room?  I lost a tooth last week and the tooth fairy left me a dollar. I haven’t spent it yet. If you lost all your teeth, I bet you’re very rich! Are you rich? Rich people have big cars and houses and stuff. Bet you’ve got a big tv, one that fills a whole wall, maybe a whole room! Wow. Why are you sad?’
Danny turned his head slightly and saw a tear falling down the old man’s cheek.
‘Oh no! I didn’t mean to make you cry! I’m sorry. I’m sorry! I have a tissue in my pocket. I’ve only used it once, but you can have it. Oh please, Mummy will be so cross and I didn’t mean it!’
His bottom lip quivered and the old man smiled at him as he took the offered crumpled tissue, dabbing at Danny’s eyes, rather than his own as he said ‘It’s OK Danny. I’m OK.’
Jumping off the bench, he took the old man’s hand.
‘I know! Let’s go and see Mummy. She doesn’t like people to be sad and makes everyone smile. She’ll make us both feel better. It’s what Moms do.’
‘Yes, I know,’ said the old man and together they walked across the park to where she waited.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tale Weaver #103: Through a Child’s Eyes 19.01.17

  1. Wonderful tale told from a child’s perspective — the young and the old. Made me tear up.

  2. Pingback: Arthur’s Story | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

