Dessert Course: Weigh In Week Five

Week five already and counting, even if I’ve been off plan this week and will be until the 26th.
To be honest, I am finding it harder NOW than when I first started, as I’m not sure if it’s me, my meds or the radiotherapy that’s making me feel hungry all the time.

I am still keeping a food diary, and being brutally honest in it, so I can see those extra syns flooding creeping in instead of a proper meal.
I have breakfast as normal, and a cooked meal during the day, but by evening I just want to snack, and that, for anyone trying to control their weight, can be a killer.

For the first time in almost 40 years, my (friendly home) scales show me below 13 stone. In fact I dipped below that at SW the week before last, even if it was by only half a pound.
That in itself has given me so much incentive to succeed, I’m determined to stick with it.
succeed-quoteIn the cottage, I struggled to get to 14 stone, and had the scales set to kilos, aiming for 85.
I never got there. In fact, I never got below 90, though in 2010 I tipped the scales at 103.
When I started with SW last June, the diabetes nurse had logged me in at 100 kg.

SW weigh you in stones and pounds in increments of half a pound, so even an eight ounce loss/gain registers. I have changed my home scales to stones and pounds too now, and they weigh to the quarter pound. We know they are accurate as we have proved it with our 56lb weight.
For the duration of the remainder of my treatment (only 7 left), I am aiming to maintain a weight below 13 stone at home regardless of what the SW scales show (all being well this should thus keep me entitled to my two and a half stone loss certificate).
So far, I have kept between three and five pounds below it. That for me is good I think.

I am pretty certain to have ‘officially’ gained again this week though, and whilst I’ll be disappointed, I’m trying not to worry too much as it’s only a temporary set back, and my overall health must come first.

I have tried to be good in the kitchen though with jacket spuds, spaghetti bolognese with carrots, a roast chicken dinner, cold chicken with left over veg that didn’t quite turn out as it should because of the high water content (tasted just fine though) and of course our 2 day stews. The smaller portions on the new plates seem to be working out too.
chicken-and-mushrooms chicken-and-veg-dinner spag-bol jacket-and-cheese jacket-and-veg veg-stew

So, here we go and how did I do?

As expected, another pound gain, but it’s not the end of the world. I am at least eating healthily, so I’ve just got to curtail the nibbles and put the Munchies out to pasture.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Dessert Course: Weigh In Week Five

  1. Ritu says:

    You’re doing great hun. Health first! Xxx

  2. colinandray says:

    Sounds like a perfectly normal hiccup in a weight loss program! You’ll be fine, and you have a track-record to support that fact! šŸ™‚

  3. I think you are doing great. Health first. Think Positive!

  4. scifihammy says:

    I still think you are doing extremely well! It is very very hard to lose any weight, but to try to keep it off under adverse circumstances – that is the hardest.
    I don’t know if it is just being a woman, but it can take me a year to lose a kg, and then put it back on in a day!
    Whatever you are doing it is working and your sensible attitude will see you through all this.
    Keep it up. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

