Pasties, Pies and Pizza

Stop drooling.
These are all on the banned syn list and Hubby and I have avoided them since I started with SW.
pastysteak piepizza 2

We were talking about how our eating habits have changed since June, and it was a bit of a ‘shock’ (in a good way) to realise that these were regularly on our menu and apart from a single moment of pizza weakness, we haven’t had then since.

Another regular thing that has been kicked into touch is iced belgian buns.
iced belgian
But there are times, dear readers, when the Sugar Monster raises his ugly head and cries from behind the glass counter how much he would love to satisfy our (s)inner needs.
Such was today, and we succumbed to a bun.

The day started very early. And I mean VERY early, neither of us having a good night’s sleep knowing Hubby had a hospital appointment at 9.20 this morning.
All three of us were up before 7am, and Maggie was being walked round the Avenue in the dark. The moon hadn’t even gone to bed, and as for the sun? No, that was still asleep, which is how I really wanted to be.

We got to the hospital at 8am (early to avoid commuter traffic especially as there are some road works), and Hubby was called in at 9.30. His procedure would take about half an hour, but they were knocking him out, so I decided to walk Maggie in the park. When I got back to the car, I got her a drink from inside the ladies, then went back upstairs to wait.

I decided to write to my Mum, and was on page 7 when I was called to collect a dopey Hubby. All appears well, so we should sleep better tonight. I had my own appointment later, so we went to a cafe for some lunch, but even then had over four hours to kill, so we came home.
It was raining, and although we didn’t get soaked, we were a little damp, but a cup of tea soon fixed that. We warmed up the boat, checked our emails and blogs, then went out again at 3.15 in the hope of missing the school run traffic.
That was when we had the call of the Bun.

We had time for coffee, and I needed something sweet. And I mean REALLY sweet.
This happens when I get over tired, after weeks/months of keeping my sweet tooth under wraps, or at least under control, the lack of ZZZs releases the enemy Longing and overrides Will Power into temporary submission.
I confess I enjoyed it. Every sinful mouthful and sticky gooiness of it. A lot.
My sin total today is off the charts. I admit it. Do I feel guilty? A little.
Am I going to beat myself up about it? No.
diet quote 2Tomorrow is another day, and all will be back to normal now I’ve got the craving out of my system (bun will follow in due course).
sw quote 2

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in current events, diary, food, humour, miscellaneous, oh dear, weight issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pasties, Pies and Pizza

  1. or…don’t let each bun day turn into a bun week! Go on! You deserved it!

  2. Ritu says:

    Weigh in is tomorrow…
    I had a students parents bring in Indian sweets as they had a baby… then today a huge box of fresh samosas… after lunch!
    We didn’t eat them… they are getting heated up for lunch tomorrow… after weigh in!
    But I know that if I do eat something forbidden… I go off the rails with the syns too! We are all allowed off days though so don’t worry!!!!

Leave a Reply

