Target Practice

Hubby used to have bad dreams about Maggie and I being attacked by rats, and he couldn’t deck them fast enough with the rifle to save us.
I told him to teach me to shoot, and he hasn’t had the dream since.
target

Not that I’m a crack shot, far from it, but you could say that any bottle top within 25 yards is history if I’m behind the stock and barrel.
However, the idea of shooting some living creature, even if for the pot, goes against the grain unless it’s absolutely necessity. I have no qualms about cooking anything Hubby has despatched, but I have asked never to see him fell it, and he is also content to skin and gut it before I handle it.

Now this post isn’t about shooting (I heard that collective sigh of relief, and I don’t blame you), but the different targets we set ourselves throughout our lives, some of which are achieved with ease, some with more effort and discomfort, and some not reached at all.

I suppose it all starts in school, challenges to be top of the class, best at sports, sing in the choir, that sort of thing. I was a pretty good runner, and my mate Christine and I were unbeatable in the three-legged race.

In my working life, my only targets were time deadlines, though following redundancy from the bank in 2001 and trying to find a position with one in the High Street, targets in sales were paramount for topping up basic wages.  I know from Tupperware and Jewellery party plans that I’m no saleswoman, though I suppose in hindsight if my sole means of income had been calculated on those sales rather than a sideline to my 9 to 5 job, then it would probably have been a different story.
party-planMeeting deadlines for me was more or less a doddle, as I can prioritize accordingly, and have always been methodical and practical in my approach to more or less everything.

Our budget target in the household is a challenge to better previous figures rather than achieve a certain amount. Indeed I have figures to work to and not exceed, but I don’t see them as targets per se, more a limit.
speedOver the course of the past 6 months though, I have achieved two mini targets set with Slimming World.
Now I am approaching The Biggie, having set my final target for weight loss at a goal weight I know is good for me, and I believe possible to maintain.
Once achieved, there is a further certificate and success package plus perks of so doing
(ie: free attendance within set parameters of 3lbs each way), but nothing on paper, stuck to the fridge or a badge on my coat will be so self satisfying as reaching that target, knowing nobody did it for me, and it’s definitely a personal best!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in Challenge, diary, Just a thought, My life, Opinions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Target Practice

  1. HA I like the speed target picture.
    Congrats on heading into the final stretch ( or should that be the End of the Big Stretch and down to target size?) Yea you!

Leave a Reply

