Shopping R not us.

This morning, it was so damn cold, I decided to wear the new joggers hanging in the cupboard rather than my jeans.
Bearing in mind I have thrown out my old ones and given the last new-but-too-big to a local charity shop, I was dismayed to discover that said new joggers, albeit in a smaller size than those recently removed from my ownership, hung on me to such an extent, that the legs were halfway along my feet in length, and they were baggier than my jeans!

me-decPhoto: me Dec 20th in jeans and new jumper

Hubby offered me his (we wear the same clothes but in different colours) and he wore his jeans as the new joggers were too big for him too! Another donation in the offing.

So into town we went, stopping on the way for new pillows.
Did you know that pillow replacement is suggested every 6 months?
We replaced two last year but ended up buying four as they weren’t high enough, so put two in one pillowcase giving us a total of three each.
Today, we purchased 4 better quality pillows, and the six we had fit in one of the bags they came in. How sad, and flat, is that.

Anyway, into town and the dreaded clothes shopping.
I hate it.
With a passion.
How anyone can enjoy stripping off and getting all sweaty trying on things that are unlikely to fit (or even look good) that have been tried on by equally hot and sweaty females, is beyond me.
clothes shoppingSo when Hubby suggested going into a sports shop first where we got the pair I was currently wearing (ie: his), I put forward the idea of him trying them on as we knew they’d then fit me.
They didn’t have a changing room, so he took off his shoes and tried them on by the rack.
They didn’t fit, so it meant a trip into the main town afterall. Damn!

We managed to park close to the High Street so we could go into one of the popular mass-produced outlets where clothes are cheap, generous in size for the guys (forget female clothing), and actually fit us both quite well.
I’d rather pay £2 for a tee-shirt and £4.50 for joggers that fade but survive countless washes compared to £10 plus for a top and £25 for branded joggers that you wash once and they shrink so much they are painful and the voice changes.

I’d declined having a new wardrobe after my weight loss because I said I didn’t need anything. How wrong I was, and how happy Hubby was because of it!
He has treated me to TWO pairs of medium sized joggers in navy and dark grey, (we are going back tomorrow to see if they have replenished the rack with the darker colours for him) and TWO medium tee shirts plus a new 4 pack of smaller knickers, total cost £16.50.
The joggers fit an absolute treat, and have sufficient bagginess to allow for some shrinkage. Plus, they are a helluva lot warmer than my jeans!
Thanks Love.
cloud hearts

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in clothes, humour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shopping R not us.

  1. DM says:

    I hate clothes shopping too, which is why I rarely do it. I’m a blue jeans/ tee shirt with a pocket kind of guy…all of my socks are the same (except for a couple of dress pair)…I have two pair of shoes..one for work, and one for everyday. Now you know why when daughter #3 was planning her wedding reception, she bought me a shirt and tie 😉 (I did find a pair of dark dress slacks tucked away in the closet)….Mrs DM is also not big into clothes shopping, although she does love to check out the thrift store for bargains, that she will often times then take to another thrift store and resell.

  2. Goodwill is a great place to shop when you are losing weight. Why spend a lot on clothes that you may only be wearing for a month? I did that when I lost 60 pounds seven years ago. And when I inevitably gained some of the weight back, Goodwill filled my closet with stylish clothes in a bigger size.

    • We have loads of charity shops on our High Street here and in the major towns. I’ve done my fair share in years past, but at the moment nothing I like is in my sze, so this particular shop is ideal for the practical stuff we wear all the time.

  3. portapatetcormagis says:

    Ugh, shopping for clothing. Yep it is a nightmare and you were very very brave today!
    I’ve started sewing quite a few things myself so at least I know whom to kick when the clothes don’t fit. Turns out I finally have some clothes that actually DO fit AND are my style*gasp*

  4. I sleep on the same pillow I have since I was a kid! It is like 1/4 the size of a regular pillow by now, but I love the thing and sleep so well with it!

Leave a Reply

