Getting to grips with the aftermath

The food trauma of the festive season is all over and done with, so now I can concentrate on getting back to normal.
pressie-pile What a lot we had, and there are an awful lot of edibles in our gift pile here.
Most are on Hubby’s side, but I had a few too. Everyone was very generous!
With only six days between weigh ins this time, and the fact that I am going to an earlier meeting on my way to my third radiotherapy session, I am really making an effort to try and lose some of my gain over Christmas.

I have incentive, insomuch as Hubby took these pictures of me last night before I went out.
me-dec-31 me-dec-31-back

I am surprised how much my shape is changing, mind you, these are new clothes, and something different to my normal choices. I don’t think I look too bad for 60 though!

One of the things about radiotherapy is that you need to keep yourself hydrated, so drinking more water isn’t exactly a bad thing from a SW point of view.
Deciding not to do any shopping yesterday which would have cocked up my graphs and figures for 2016 food expense, I have made do with what was in the fridge and veg basket in keeping with speed food and healthy eating.
brunch-jan-1 chicken-and-veg

On the left was today’s lunch of ham, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and peppers (Hubby just had ham, eggs and mushrooms), and on the right was yesterday’s main meal of steamed chicken, carrots, peppers and mushrooms, with a spoonful of rice (Hubby just had chicken and rice). Both are FREE as there is no dressing, stock or gravy.
I still have a third each of red, green and yellow pepper to use up, so will be shopping tomorrow for some lean minced pork to make a bolognese of sorts.

I have tried to avoid puddings this week, though strawberry cheesecake was on offer last night and I caved in with very little persuasion (sigh). I’m afraid I synned for England as I sampled a very nice salmon pie, ginger beef, a mangetout/green bean/brocoli medley, and a cheesy ham jacket potato (plus the wine and some nibbles BUT I did avoid the dips).

Now that temptation is out of the way, I can get my act together.
praying-smileyWe were all given a little booklet at group last week which has some recipes in, so I am going to experiment with some of those to ring the changes and see how they turn out.
N isn’t going to group this week, but I’ve invited her here for coffee when she finishes work on Friday as my appointment has been moved to 9am so that I can see the consultant afterwards to discuss how my treatment is going and voice any concerns or questions.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in clothes, food, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Getting to grips with the aftermath

  1. Ritu says:

    We’ve all enjoyed… now time to get serious!

  2. Barb Knowles says:

    You look amazing! And continue to inspire me πŸ˜ƒ I’m going back to work on Tuesday which will stop my frequent nibbling. My son left 2 boxes of chocolates here and doesn’t want them back. I was eating them and then just threw them out. I was eating them just because they were there. Oh well. The holiday food is almost all gone. Then back to normal.

    • Thanks Barb, you are very kind!
      I got the goodies I took to the NYE get-together back, so I’m going to give the mince pies to the office staff here tomorrow, the crackers we will take up to MSM when we next play scrabble, and the pink smarties will probably disappear somewhere about my person. My logic is if I don’t buy it, we can’t have it. sadly Hubby gets the munchies for biscuits and I weaken with guilt for depriving him!

  3. This weekend has been even worse than Christmas for sweets and treats for me! I am going out for my mom’s birthday tomorrow night, so the indulgences will continue at least one more day (though then it is definitely back to being better behaved in the food/exercise department).

Leave a Reply

