Do you have a-peel or are you a sucker?

fruit-basket-2Many years ago, I developed an intolerance to oranges which triggered migraine attacks.
Since then, I have been wary of mixed fruit juices, tending to opt for pure pineapple or apple juice instead.
Because of this, oranges as a source of vitamin C were very much off my menu, and I was even careful with taking any of the soluble kind.
I also don’t like pips in my fruit, so grapes must be seedless and I no longer enjoy the faffing about with a pin and pomegranates like I did as a child, yet I don’t mind tomato or strawberry seeds.

The above Christmas gift basket of fruit from MSM was so kind and I am munching on the last apple now.
The oranges were a mixture of clementines and naval, and not a single pip amongst them.
The little ones are easy enough to peel and have in segments, but the big boys have thicker skins and for my arthritic hands, more awkward unless I get my teeth stuck in, and even then the gnashers are dodgy.
I remember as a Tupperware agent the crochet hook peeling tools that were so popular as consolation game prizes though I confess I only ever used one twice.
orange-peelerToday, fruit cutting gadgets are more elaborate, and looking at these below, perhaps I should think about getting one if I’m going to try oranges on a more permanent basis.
orange-peelers

But going back to my title, I confess I’m a real sucker when it comes to naval oranges as I cut the fruit in half then suck the juice out.
It’s extremely unladylike and can be noisy, but then who cares in the comfort of your own home, and once the initial juice has been extracted, the folding out of the flesh to get to the rest is inelegant and somewhat undignified as you wrap your face round it.
eating-orangeI could cut it into wedges like when we had tournament netball matches at school I suppose (I was a shooter), but where’s the fun in that?

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, Just a thought, miscellaneous, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you have a-peel or are you a sucker?

  1. I use a paring knife like those old crochet hoods to put skin deep slits down the orange. Makes it much easier. Or you could slice into quarters but that’s much messier. Glad you can enjoy them.

    • I am too now, especially as my migraines would really knock me for six. Juicy naval oranges are cheaper than raspberries or melon, and will make a nice change for me, though at the moment the conference pears are still firm and delicious.

Leave a Reply

