The Last Day

December 31st 2016.
A normal Saturday for us to begin with, shower, laundry, housework, and later we will be running the engine as part of her routine maintenance.
As is our tradition, we start every New Year with a household blitz.
In the past of course it took a few hours with bedrooms, lounge, dining room, kitchen, bathroom and conservatory to contend with, but in the boat? Ten minutes, fifteen tops.

Digital Camera

Us in Stratford August 2015


We put all our Christmas decorations away a couple of days ago. We are still finding the odd strand of tinsel that has escaped the bin.
We had over thirty cards this year, some of which I can recycle parts of when I make mine for 2017.

We have been invited aboard one of the widebeams for a little get-together tonight.
It seems last year three couples more or less in a line in the marina were all on their own New Year’s eve, so have decided to join forces and see in the New Year together. I shall be taking in a few nibbles and a bottle of wine but we will be leaving Maggie on board, so won’t stay until midnight.

We were out shopping in one of the major towns yesterday and I tried on a pair of jeans in a similar style to those that I’m wearing now.
I got into a size 14 easily (I haven’t been a 14 since my late teens), but the legs and back-end were almost as baggy as the ones I already have! A 12 would definitely not have fitted comfortably, but there is hope for the not to distant future!
The mirror in the ladies is very friendly as I caught a glimpse of myself and had to do a double take. I hate mirrors or seeing my reflection in shop window glass, so it was a pleasant surprise to see I have a definite shape now and not just a row of michelins.
michelin-christmasNew and improved:
mrs-michelin

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in change, current events, diary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Last Day

  1. Ritu says:

    Loving the images!!! Well done to you! A definite target to hit in the new year then… size 12!!!

    • Doubtful, but a well cut 14 would definitely suit. I’ve set my final target now which is just over another half stone, and over three stone loss in total. I’m happy with that and will be working hard to maintain it, because I think that’s when the challenges really start!

  2. Maybe a size 14 with a little stretch? Have a great evening (must be close to that time for you now). We are eating an early dinner out and then staying home to complain about the level of bad TV. We will fall asleep just before the ball falls and wake up to a new year! May it be the best ever.

    • Thanks Kate. we are about 9 and a half hours way from the New Year as I type. I’ve done steamed chicken and rice for Hubby’s main meal, whereas I had mine with a pile of veggie speed foods.
      I have a new pair of leggings and top to wear tonight, rather than the baggy joggers and tatty tee shirts I favour. The joggers have been washed and given to charity (they were almost new) and the tee shirts, both Hubby’s and mine, confined to the bin as I found half a dozen new ones at the bottom of the cupboard!
      Happy New Year my friend.

  3. Barb Knowles says:

    I love the graphics and humor!

  4. colinandray says:

    A 10 minute Spring clean potential… I like the boat idea! 🙂

  5. Very cute! Hurray for you and all your determination!
    Wishing you miles of smiles, intriguing wanderings, and lots of wonder in the New Year! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

