Last Post

Good food, good company, and a good night.
Sadly some idiot started letting off fireworks just after 6, and poor Maggie started to shake.
Hubby decided to stay with her with the possibility of piggybacking to our hosts, but it didn’t work out like that.
Just when things settled down, another batch would go off. I could hear them on the widebeam, so no doubt she did too.

MSM had also been invited tonight, and it was suggested I take a plate of food up to our boat for Hubby so that at least he had some supper. It was well received.

wine glassesI confess to drinking half the bottle of light sparkling wine I’d taken.
At 3.5ΒΊ proof, I was assured it wasn’t too alcoholic but I could feel when I’d had enough.Β  I’m no drinker as I can’t handle it which is why I tend to leave well alone. At least I didn’t stagger or fall over, and it was good to come back to the boat for a cup of tea!

I had a call from Bro who is now almost half way through their first 2017 day, and an email from Other Brother wishing us both well in the new year. Apparently Sis has gone round to the club and my Mum is on her own. She’s probably in bed now, so I won’t disturb her.
In years gone by, we would ring our parents on the stroke of midnight to wish them a Happy New Year but stopped doing so after the Dads died. We may well go up to the Abbey tomorrow afternoon to light candles for them.

With a slightly fuzzy head, I’m feeling a little nostalgic as this year closes. Nothing in particular, just a pleasant mellow feeling of well-being as I think about things and people past and present.
Good or bad, time presses on, and cannot be recovered or replaced. We make choices, not always wisely, but at the end of the day, or even a year, if something positive has come out of it, then all is well.
timeTomorrow is not just another day, but the first of another year.
Time to get things back into perspective and proportion, to apply myself where necessary.
Summing it up in one word……………. DIET.
diet-quote-humour-2

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Just a thought, Memories, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Last Post

  1. Ah. your New Year’s Eve is just ending, and our is just beginning. I expect someone here will shoot of fireworks at midnight, too, and Cody will get all upset. But at least we’re not going out, so it won’t be too bad. Happy New Year!

  2. scifihammy says:

    Ah sorry to hear of the fireworks spoiling Hubby’s night out and poor Maggie, but glad you got to celebrate a little. πŸ™‚
    Happy New Year. πŸ™‚

  3. lbeth1950 says:

    Fireworks torment our Buzzy, too!

  4. foguth says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you, too! I hope that 2017 will be your best year, so far.

    They started booming off the fireworks here, way too early, too. Fortunately, a friend had told me that I could make a ‘thunder coat’ us using a 4″ wide ace bandage.

Leave a Reply

