Global warming? No, it’s me.

As the clock hurtles itself in a suicidal mission towards midnight, the temperature is going out of the day and Hubby will be surfacing shortly, having gone back to bed for a nap thanks to a blazing furnace during the night.
clockUnfortunately he feels the cold more than most, and thus going to bed with me in the winter is always toasty warm as I’m like a hot water bottle that never goes cold. He knows he can snuggle in no matter how cold his hands, backside or feet are and I won’t mind, because it works both ways as he’s cooling me down when I get too hot.

The menopause in a box is working.
These are the anti-oestrogen tablets I am likely to have to take for the next few years, one of the possible side effects being hot flushes. The consultant I saw suggested I took them at night so that I’d flush before morning (makes me sound like a toilet, so glad my initials aren’t WC) and thus not suffer too much during the day.
hot flushThat’s OK to a point as when I went through the menopause (long drawn out process for me), I was like a beacon in the fog showing the way for all shipping vessels up the channel.
In comparison now though, the menopause was a walk in the park.
As I slept merrily on, Hubby had to throw the covers off in the early hours as the heat FOR HIM was tremendous. Sleeping on the edge of the bed he could still feel the waves radiating off me, and I didn’t so much as stir as I dreamt of food and pianos amongst other things.
hot water bottleMuch as we were expecting this, it’s a shame we can’t can or bottle it to save on our fuel bill. I suppose with even colder temperatures to come, this may turn out to be a good thing provided I don’t get the sweats with it too, as then we’d have the problem of damp bedding and would be up in the laundry every day.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in current events, diary, humour, miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Global warming? No, it’s me.

  1. There was one day that I thought I’d combust. I remember standing outside in 15 degree F weather in my nightgown and bare feet trying too cool down. I would have stood naked if I didn’t think the neighbors would be concerned.

  2. OK, best opening line ever: “As the clock hurtles itself in a suicidal mission towards midnight…”

  3. I’m well past menopause, but I’m still way warmer at night than hubby is. It’s a constant battle between turning the heat up for him and opening windows for me. Good thing we sleep in different rooms these days, and that was one of the reasons we made that decision!

  4. scifihammy says:

    I do sympahthise, but you can be thankful you are now in winter with cold temperatures. Try being hot in summer over here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

