The End of 2016

We started 2016 with plans to explore the canals and have more trips out in the boat, getting to enjoy our new choice of lifestyle and improve our boating skills.
It didn’t happen, and I said to Hubby this evening that I will be glad to see the back of this year.
Healthwise, it has been a bit of a nightmare for both of us, yet when we sat back to analyse the year and what had actually happened, to be honest, maybe it wasn’t so bad after all.

sept-sunsetOur life is very laid back in a relaxed community. Any doubts we had about the sudden change in how we lived were dispelled in a few months.
Living on the marina means no passing traffic or cold callers, and generally it is so quiet, you can almost hear the proverbial pin drop. The above picture was taken across the river from our helm.
Ducks, geese, swans, moorhens, kingfishers, herons and cormorants are our constant neighbours, and the people here friendly but respectful of your privacy and space.

This year saw our Silver Wedding Anniversary and my 60th birthday in May.
Cue dog staying overnight with MSM and a night for us in a hotel with bath, bubbles and rubber duck.

A negative point was losing our money for the Stratford Boat Festival as ours was out of commission due to a gear box problem and couldn’t be fixed in time.
The good news was that the repair was covered by warranty and so didn’t cost us anything.
bb stratfordWe still got to Stratford and had the pick of the river moorings. It may only be an hour or so by car, but by river? Three or four days!
We also managed other trips out for several nights at a time, so had mini breaks without the tourists or need to worry about packing and accommodation.
My boating skills have improved, and I have more confidence bringing her in or taking her out of locks or river moorings, though berthing onto our mooring here is still to be done.

Being diagnosed with breast cancer in October was a shock, and so ironic as it was Breast Cancer Awareness month.
pink-awareThere is so much good news to this though as it has made me aware of how truly blessed I am with so many friends, both here and in the blogging world, who have been so supportive and kind, the prompt attention, surgery treatment and after care I’ve received, and the luck of a chance comment made by a nurse attending to Hubby. It put me on the path to my weight loss which in turn led us to finding Humphrey early before he could do any serious damage.
The nosebleeds I had in April brought attention to high blood pressure which has since been addressed and resolved by this same weight loss.
sw-2-and-a-halfOnly needing long-term anti-oestrogen medication and a 20 session course of radiotherapy which will finish at the end of January, I am well on the way to a full recovery.
More good news on this is that Other Brother has also been supportive to the extent that I feel the rift between us has narrowed.

Moneywise, we are still afloat but will never be rich!
The spreadsheets have been kept religiously, but it didn’t help with the stupid tax man demanding nearly £500 in ‘underpaid tax’ that didn’t exist because some idiot had put 2016-17 figures into the 2015-16 tax year.
It cost us over twenty quid in registered letters and phone calls, and eventually we got a letter saying no tax was owed. But an apology?
No.
Compensation for expenses?
Fat chance.

Maybe 2017 will see us doing some of the things intended for 2016. Who knows?
With scenery like this, life is so damn good and I’m certainly not complaining.
I have an awful lot going for me now as this year closes and a new one begins.
We discovered years ago that if we planned anything it always went belly up, so I guess we will enter the New Year with ideas and an open mind.
One thing is certain, if we do anything, it will probably find its way into my blog!

happy-new-yearHappy New Year to you all.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, life afloat, My life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The End of 2016

  1. stevetanham says:

    Quite a year… I’ve enjoyed your journals. I have this romantic picture of life afloat. We used to have a family sailing cruiser on Ullswater- my father’s pride and joy, so I know a little about boating. Best wishes for your continued health, and a gentle and creative life on the water in 2017.

    • Thanks Steve. We love the life here, and know many dream of having what we have. The winter can be cruel with condensation problems (sigh) and keeping warm, but all in all, it suits us. If we hadn’t been here, hadn’t had the nurse, my GP, our new friends and in such close proximity to the best breast cancer treatment facility in the country, things could have been so very different for me.
      Happy New Year to you and your family.

  2. It was all meant to be. The best happened and the rest….well there is time to do some things you enjoy. Have a great New Year!

  3. Barb Knowles says:

    I had no idea about the Breast Cancer. I think that I read all or most of your posts, but apparently not. It sounds like you have a good course of treatment and a positive attitude. As to weight, I have a lot of health problems and sometimes feel my doctors are my closest friends (not really but I see them a lot). The other day, knowing I overdid it over the holidays, I was in for a rude awakening when I got on the scales at the doctors office. I’m starting to realize that I’m addicted to sugar. So your sharing of recipes and portion size have been wonderful for me…
    I try to make fairly intricate plans. My husband always tells me not to bother, because life intervenes and they never work out as planned.
    I will pray for you and pray that you have a wonderful New Year!

    • Thank you so much Barb. I documented Humphrey in my blog because I didn’t want anyone to feel alone or afraid to see their GP should they find a lump. I have an ace in the hole with Hubby, and the support I’ve had has truly amazed me. I found out today that the residents in the properties bordering the marina all think I’ve been great through it all because I’ve been so positive. The thing is, I only normally chat to half of them!
      I will try and keep up with the recipes and SW tips as they help me also. Putting my photos out gives me an idea of where I’m failing in the diet balancing as well as portion control, so it’s win-win all round.
      I have a terrible sweet tooth which has been well spoilt over the holidays. Portion size and ratios seem to be keys to success.

      • Barb Knowles says:

        I have to go back and see the posts I missed. I’m not good at reading a lot during the week. I collapse when I get back from work. One dessert for me means 3. Maybe I’m exaggerating a little, but I can’t resist. It’s better for me not to have sweets here.

      • It started with ‘Is it or isn’t it’ in September, but I don’t know how many I did in the end.
        I know what you mean about sweets…… for us it’s chocolate, biscuits, crisps, nuts, all things bad for us I’m afraid so I don’t buy them as a rule. we have a fair amount at the moment because of gifts, so they are hidden from immediate sight! we live in hope of ignoring temptation!

      • Barb Knowles says:

        Chocolate, ice cream, cookies…that’s what I like. I’m going to backtrack and see which posts I’ve missed.

  4. scifihammy says:

    It has been quite a year for you, with ups and downs, but as you say, maybe not as bad as it could have been.
    Wishing you all a wonderful 2017. 🙂

Leave a Reply

