First Treatment

Despite my bravado, I went to bed last night slightly anxious as to what lay in store for me today.
pink-butterfly-2I didn’t sleep very well, and when I did it was a load of garbled rubbish intermingled with pain in my knee and a sudden drop in temperature to minus 6. Maggie got cold and snuggled into me, yet Hubby was frantically mopping me with a towel as I was in mid hot flush, so I guess the ‘menopause in a box’ medication is doing its stuff.
I woke up feeling sick and headachy with nerves!
nervous wreckAfter an initial chat on arrival to make sure they had the right person to radiate on the right part of the body, I was given my personal clocking in card and a car parking pass. Hubby couldn’t come any further with me and so went back to the waiting area as I was led deeper into the bowels of the radiology corridors.
The linear accelerator greeted me with open arms sotospeak and the two young radiologists were lovely.
radiotherapyI was lined up neatly with my tattoo freckles and images taken for superimposing on those from my CT scan a couple of weeks ago.
ct-scannerSomething wasn’t quite right though and I had to be turned slightly and redotted, so my friends have now taken to calling me Dotty as opposed to Mrs Skinny Person (thanks guys).

The machine whirred, rattled and hummed as George Michael drifted across the speakers and I asked if I would have to listen to his greatest hits for the duration of my time.
Luckily for me it was the radio, not a CD, so I had to be careful not to start singing or tapping my foot to some of my favourite oldies.
It’s not uncomfortable lying there with my arms above my head though as that’s how I sleep sometimes.
Once in the correct position, it was only a couple of minutes of zapping time.

As the machine rotated away, it revealed a little picture on the ceiling.  It was a cartoon of a vegetable plot, with 9 sweetcorn ears, 18 tomatoes, 2 pumpkins and half a dozen lettuces. I’ve asked for Hugh Jackman next week.
hugh

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in current events, diary, health, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Treatment

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Hang in there, and keep smiling! If they get a picture of HJ then I am sure you will 🙂
    Thoughts are with you!

  2. DM says:

    Thinking of you…Nice people in the hospital setting are so underrated. Glad you had a couple.

    • Thanks Doug. Second session today and the same girls from yesterday were on duty. One of there says she will be there for all of my treatments. No HJ on the ceiling yet though (sigh).

Leave a Reply

