Spiders, Mice and Work

You may well ask what these have in common, and I have to say not a lot, apart from being subjects in my dreams the other night.

I do not like spiders at the best of times, though over the years I have grown to tolerate the smaller ones, but still break out in a cold sweat at anything bigger than an inch (including the leg span).
toy spiderOne of my worst nightmares has always been a spider dangling in my face or being thrown at me.
This time, the arachnid launched itself and landed in my hair. It was so real, I woke up flailing my arms and screaming. Hubby nearly got a black eye as he tried to console me, but eventually I calmed down and managed to get back to sleep.

Only to dream of mice.
cute mouseOr rather one, that seemed to have adopted me and no matter how hard I tried, wouldn’t give me up.
I have no problem at all with mice, and when we lived in Lincolnshire, we deterred them coming into the property with plug in sonar devices in the false ceilings and our conservatory. Watching them in the garden was fascinating, but we certainly didn’t want them indoors.
mouse detDespite my efforts to return this one to its family and natural surroundings, my dream finished with it making itself at home in the sleeve of my jumper…..Β  while I was wearing it.

Finally, my mind turned to offices, lifts, and company politics.
I worked my final ‘office day’ on June 13th 2007, though there was no lift in that particular building, just a choice of three flights of stairs to the second floor and a long corridor with various offices off it.
Company politics were rife and contradictory, but that wasn’t why I left.
I had taken my early retirement package from the bank the year before, and we were selling our house to follow the idea of opening a B&B.
I’d already given my notice at the beginning of February but had agreed to stay on until they could find a replacement or we found a new property.
officeNeither happened actually, but having sold our house and moved into temporary accommodation, suddenly Hubby and I found ourselves on the road with the tent looking in earnest for a new home, which is how we ended up in Lincolnshire.

Why on earth my subconsciousness should throw these three unrelated items together is anyone’s guess.
Funnily enough though when I woke up, I felt refreshed. I’m still trying to work that out!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Just a thought, Memories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spiders, Mice and Work

  1. colinandray says:

    Rubik’s Cube syndrome (I just made that up)! You pondered all the pieces until they fitted into some pre-determined pattern, and then all was well! πŸ™‚

  2. scifihammy says:

    I am also surprised that after such a restless night you actually felt refreshed! I wonder did you eat any cheese before bed? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

