December : Christmas Thoughts 24

Today is Christmas Eve, and for us practically a normal Saturday.
The market is on, the streets relatively quiet actually, and rather than take the car, we walked up to The Abbey this morning. Hubby’s hands were so cold, we stopped on the way for a coffee in the cafe where I met N on Tuesday which is dog friendly.
cafe-chocolat
The Abbey was serene and peaceful, and as the seats had been removed from the Lady Chapel, we went round the corner to Our Lady Queen of Peace to light candles for our Dads, and one for our dear friend in Lincolnshire who died in July.
our ladyWe were approached by Linda, a member of the clergy, who welcomed us in and made a fuss of Maggie, who was in her element.

Yesterday when we went up to play scrabble, I noticed that MSM didn’t have any fresh flowers other than the remnants of a bunch we’d bought her some time ago, which is most unusual. So on the way back, I went into the supermarket and purchased a colourful bouquet which we delivered on our way home and pleased her immensely.

We have since both had showers and the laundry is in.
Apart from the mother and daughter in the little narrowboat under the trees and possibly two other couples, we are the only ones here. Access to the WIFI is therefore wonderful!

This is one of my favourite memories of Christmas from my adult life.
I was working for the High Street Bank, the year being 1975 or 1976 as I was still living with my parents.

It was Christmas Eve, and as was the norm then, the banks closed at midday and once everything was balanced, we’d be able to leave early.
One of my regular customers owned a bakery that I passed on my way home and I would drop her night safe in to save her having to make a special journey to the bank to collect it.
I would often go home with some buns or rolls at a discounted price if it was late in the day.

I was invited into the shop for a glass of sherry and a mince pie, and to chat with her other customers as they collected their orders or dropped in for a Christmas loaf or pastries.
It was a lovely friendly atmosphere, and most of the customers knew me anyway, but usually from the other side of the cashier window.
I stayed for about an hour I suppose, and when I came out, it was snowing.
It was just like a Dickens scene, and I more or less floated home on a cushion of festive magic and goodwill, let alone the rosy cheeks from the sherry.
dickens

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to December : Christmas Thoughts 24

  1. Ritu says:

    Happy Christmas Eve!!!

  2. A little sherry does make everything rosy.

    • The last time I had a glass a sherry was at 3am one morning in 1986 over a game of cards with a foster boy who had a problem and wanted a one on one conversation. The sherry in question was Dad’s homemade, and it was absolutely delicious.

  3. That sounds like something out of a movie! What a wonderful memory!

    If I don’t have a chance to drop back in, Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  4. DM says:

    that is a great memory! You’re right it feels just like a scene from Dicken’s. Merry Christmas to you and Paul! DM

  5. scifihammy says:

    I’m glad you got to light your candles for your Dads and friend. I think this time of year particularly we remember loved ones. Lovely reminiscences and Hooray for the wifi! 😀
    Happy Christmas 🙂

  6. cindy knoke says:

    🎄❄️🌟🎄❄️🌟

Leave a Reply

