A Song for Christmas

I do not like the hymn All Things Bright and Beautiful in any shape, size, style or melodic version. For someone who is incapable of hate, this does actually come close.
I have no explanation or excuse, not even the fact that it is my sister’s favourite and she will have it at any opportunity.
So you can imagine my annoyance when I woke up this morning with the traditional tune in my head but the lyrics were………….. well…………. not.
Please feel free to sing along:

All things bad and wonderful
Like chocolate, buns and cake,
All things sweet and chewable,
Are simply mine to take.

Each little mouse of sugar,
Each chocolate Santa Claus,
Just made for little fingers,
Or sucked in tiny jaws…..

All things bad and wonderful,
What else is there to say?
Forget the Syns and calories,
Get stuffed on Christmas Day!
curtsey

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, humour, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Song for Christmas

  1. colinandray says:

    Not amused! I guess it has its funny side but we are in general bombarded by profit driven commerce so much. Forget our health, and that of our children. We’ll just make money while they deal with the long term health related issues from sugar, sugar substitutes, salt. Cigarette smoking was cool and the thing to do once!

    • We are overwhelmed with the availability of everything bad for us, and my little ditty was meant in jest. I intend to enjoy my Christmas without worrying too much about ‘the bad things’. I couldn’t stuff myself silly these days even if I wanted to, and besides, I’ve come too far with my weight loss to revert to old habits. I still see the cages of Easter Eggs being wheeled into the store rooms in the supermarket a few years ago on Christmas Eve. Now that was profiteering at its worst imo.

Leave a Reply

