And on the subject of presents:

It’s not only kids that ‘play up’ or get snotty over a potential gift.
Hubby overheard a conversation in the jewellers as we were looking for something specific for MSM (which they didn’t have anyway so we had to resort to a plan B).

Husband and Wife this time, and Hubby was stunned.

H: Is there anything you’d particularly like Darling?
W: I don’t know.
H: I thought I’d buy you something to go with the bracelet I bought you last year.
W: OK.
H: What about this?
pointing to a bracelet with a price tag of almost five hundred pounds.
W: Urgh! That’s really gawdy and tacky.
H: I’ll think again then.

In years past, Hubby has bought me jewellery,  a necklace, locket, bracelet, earrings, and one year a new wedding ring as I’d got so fat, mine didn’t fit anymore (we had to buy a man’s as the women’s didn’t go up to my size).
Admittedly, I don’t wear a lot,  but my locket has a picture of Hubby and Maggie in it, and the neck chain he bought to replace one that had broken supports my elephant (15th anniversary), I love you today more than yesterday heart (another anniversary), my chinese I Love you symbol (birthday) and the cross Bro gave me when I was bridesmaid for him in 1965, which I never took off until my surgery.
I have my engagement, wedding and eternity rings, my silver bracelet he bought for my 50th birthday, and countless other little things that I treasure.

When he told me about the kids and then this woman, I thought how ungrateful, especially if it was to match something she already had (doesn’t say a lot for that either then).
I hope he buys her something plastic that you’d get out of a novelty cracker.

Which brings me to a scene in MI 3, where Tom Cruise and Michelle Monaghan get married with plastic wedding rings.

mi-3

Works for me………….. but you can keep Tom Cruise.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in film/tv/book, humour, Just a thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And on the subject of presents:

  1. And won’t it be fun for her Christmas morning when she can be surprised by the very gift that she herself picked out. Sounds like there’s not a lot of joy in that household.

  2. scifihammy says:

    Sadly, this emphasises that the whole purpose of Christmas is getting lost. What a woman!

  3. Charli Mills says:

    Thus proving those who can afford to wear diamonds don’t always appreciate them! Or perhaps it is the love behind the piece of jewelry that matters most. One of my most treasured rings is a cheap mood ring from an Irish fair. It was the last trip my best friend and I made together before she took ill and died. I was with her until her last breath. She expressed concern of getting family jewelry, heirlooms, to her daughters and granddaughters and other family. It all got sorted out and the diamonds, though not grand, were appreciatively passed down. Then came the surprise call — her daughter said her Mom left a ring for me, too. Yep! It was the mood ring! It made me laugh and I often wear it on special occasions as if it were the biggest gem in the world. Thank you. Your post reminded me of this personal story. Merry Christmas to you and your family, hold on to the memories and love behind the gifts.

    • I have a similar story about a gift from a friend…….. a simple ornament no more than an inch or so high of Postman Pat and his cat Jess. It was bought for me in 1999 at the Dorset Steam Fair after I’d bought my first new car, a red Hyundai Atoz, which we lovingly referred to as the PPV (Postman Pat Van). My friend died of breast cancer in 2000, and I still have Pat and Jess on the car dashboard. Her husband is MOH, who is more like family now.
      A Merry Christmas to you and your family also.

Leave a Reply

