Remnants of Summer

The day was quite pleasant when we took Maggie for her first walk this morning.
Although there was a slight nip in the air, it didn’t warrant trussing ourselves up like stuffed turkeys, as we needed just our bodywarmers plus gloves for Hubby.

We were going to do our £10 dash today, but having started the day a little late and had some shopping to do, we’ve decided to do that on Wednesday now as I had a doctor’s appointment this afternoon (armed with a list) and I’m meeting N for coffee tomorrow morning in a cafe neither of us have been in before (Christmas treat to us for our excellent weight loss).
cafe-chocolat
On the way out this morning though, we were approached by one of the Old School boat owners and offered a bag of goodies.
Oh joy! Speed food bliss to help towards any over indulgence tomorrow. I do so like to be able to plan my attack well in advance!
Flashback to memories of our apple tree and blackberrying in the hedgerows for crumbles and pies as inside was a generous carton of frozen blackberries and several rather large cooking apples.
It was now obvious what I was going to cook for dessert to go with our dinner today.

Actually, it was all good for us, as my spaghetti bolognese was made from scratch with fresh ingredients and 5% lean minced beef so no syns at all, and the dessert just notched up a few for the crumble topping of granola cereal and porridge oats. You can see from the side photo that dessert was mostly fruit!
spag-bol-dec

crumble crumble-side-view

Here are a couple of other things from the kitchen this week:
dec-breakfast dec-jacket-curry

The doc was really pleased to see me looking so well, especially as it’s been months since I last saw her, way before I started with Slimming World actually as I was on two sticks.
She said losing the weight has taken years off me, and my official weight graph looks like I’ve fallen off a cliff. All good stuff at 17 kilos lighter than my June diabetes weigh in!
My knee playing up is probably due to arthritis reacting to my medication, and my morning headaches just a twinge as they go when I’m up and have had breakfast.
My BP is brilliant, and she is following up on my eye appointment at the hospital as I haven’t had confirmation of the one we tried to make on their new supa-doopa-ain’t-gonna-work computer system!

All in all, a damn good day I think!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in fiction, Friend and Family, friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remnants of Summer

  1. colinandray says:

    Thought of you today! Yesterday I went to a new German Bakery store looking for a Black Forest cake for today. They initially apologized as they were still establishing what sells/what doesn’t and had so far seen little demand for Black Forest then, as an afterthought… “We can make you one if you wish?” I agreed and later that evening we picked it up. This morning we sampled it………… and it was the best ever! We’re going to be trying more of their baking. This could be dangerous as they are only a 10 minute walk away!

  2. scifihammy says:

    This is great news! How wonderful to have lost so much weight and to be feeling so much better 🙂

Leave a Reply

