December : Christmas Thoughts 19

You may (or may not actually) be aware that Hubby and I aren’t drinkers, but that doesn’t necessarily mean we are totally tee-total.
I can still remember falling off my bar stool in Amsterdam after two (honest!) small beers, and when Hubby’s holdall with his medication in it went on holiday without him in Dublin, Guinness and paracetamol make a great numbing potion (from the neck down).
suitcase
But one of our first Christmases together saw us apart at different functions.
Hubby was working for a computer company and his firm’s do happened to fall on the same night as mine with the bank.
His was a meal out in a pub, then back to the office social room/bar for nibbles, music and mucho vino.
Mine was the dinner dance at the posh hotel with taxis provided home.
We decided to compromise and I would get a taxi from my venue to his firm, and then drive our car home.

I had a really good night with my work colleagues and left the hotel just before 1am.
The disco was in full blaring swing, and I could hear George Michael whammin’ his Last Christmas as the taxi pulled away from the kerb.
I got to Hubby’s works about ten minutes later, and George was still singing about his someone special when I walked in.

People who have had too much to drink make me wary and nervous, even more so having lived with an in-denial-alcoholic for 8 years.
I had never seen Hubby drunk.
In fact, I had never seen him with a pint glass, full or otherwise, so to find him as I did was a bit unnerving.
He was sitting by himself but not exactly alone.
He looked very happy and smiled at everyone.
He was also very quiet.
drunk-smiley drunk-smiley-2
I think these sum it up more than anything I can say to describe it.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, humour, Memories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December : Christmas Thoughts 19

  1. DM says:

    yea, we’re not big drinkers @ all…may have a couple of servings of wine a year (or maybe a beer) When we got married we agreed, that if we did choose to drink, it would only be in the company of the other..ie. I was not going to get into the routine of stopping after work with the guys to have a cold one. Well, dinner bell just rang. need to go 🙂 DM

Leave a Reply

