December : Christmas Thoughts 17

We decided to visit MOH yesterday and were asked not to bring any food as he had absolutely tons of it.
It made me think of previous Christmas preparations and visitations, when my cupboards and freezer would be groaning with food for my pending visitors.
I had always been anxious that should we have company, my guests would leave hungry, so I made sure I had plenty of nibbles plus things I could quickly heat up and stuff that could miraculously appear with the minimum of effort.
We never starve when visiting MOH but we don’t like to arrive empty handed.
Besides, I enjoy the opportunity to cook for the guys in my life using my old cooker.
guys 2MOH’s brother had been down for a few days which accounted for Dinners are Us in the household as both of them have big appetites and if eating for England was an olympic sport, they would take joint gold.
Sadly we didn’t meet up with him this time as he had a delivery to make to another branch of the family before returning home.

We were greeted with tea and mince pies, and an array of goodies to test my culinary skills. MOH had a plate of roast dinner leftovers plus a large slice of steak pie, so rather than have it go to waste, it was decided that he should have that and I’d throw some veggies together for us to go with a jacket potato. I was quite pleased with the results which was a good dinner for me, and a filling one for the guys.
We declined dessert, but did have a piece of homemade carrot cake with our cup of tea.

Settling down for the usual dominoes, for once I was on a winning streak, beating the guys four games to one, which was won by Hubby.
We played two games of cribbage, with Hubby and I winning one each, so rather than push our luck and MOH’s apparent good humour at being beaten, we put everything away and chatted about forthcoming plans.
christmas dayFor the past couple of years, we have spent Christmas with MOH, but intended to stay  home this year, especially as my radiotherapy starts soon afterwards.
He has invited us down again, so we’ve compromised and will go down early Christmas morning, but come back in the evening.
As I won’t be able to get anything at the last minute, it has been agreed that MOH will provide the main course and we will take in the sweet things and trimmings.

Shopping today has been fun, because I’ve been able to buy those special treats that are ‘for Christmas’ and as such have been put away ready for the main event. Catering for three, but just for one day, meant that I didn’t get too carried away or overdid it!
The supermarket was packed, though in contrast, the town market was pretty quiet.
We treated ourselves to a coffee and having seen one of our regular traffic wardens on duty, we got one for her too which made her day as she was a little chilled.

Hubby and I will still have our traditional dinner here on the boat, but probably the day after weigh in as I get no day off for good behaviour!
santaOur Christmas is never just for a day but almost an entire week. This year is no exception.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Family, food, humour, My life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December : Christmas Thoughts 17

  1. lbeth1950 says:

    I am with you. Friends shouldn’t let friends leave hungry.

Leave a Reply

