December 15: Flash Fiction Challenge

Over to Charli for this week’s flash fiction challenge.
https://carrotranch.com/2016/12/16/december-15-flash-fiction-challenge/

December 15, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) explore the importance of a name within a story. It can be naming an experience, introducing an extraordinary name, or clarifying a name (who can forget Who’s on First). Go where the prompt leads. flash-fiction-15th-dec My name should have been Robert.
Unfortunately I threw a spanner in the works when I made my appearance in 1956 as I had the wrong plumbing, not that my parents didn’t love me.
A dilemma was then thrust upon them as Robert had been decided upon practically the moment I was conceived. Rather than instigate family arguments and accusations of favouritism, I was named after a character in the book Mum had been reading towards the end of her pregnancy.
Nothing fancy you understand and in later years, I was glad not to have been called after the horse.

Note: This is true, and how I came to be called Diana (Di to my friends, which includes bloggers too if they wish, aka Pen/Pens).

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in blogging, Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to December 15: Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. joyroses13 says:

    LOL! You surprised them πŸ™‚

  2. Charli Mills says:

    Ha! I think today’s expectant parents miss out on the fun of gender surprise at birth. I’m so glad you didn’t have to explain being named after a horse. And speaking of names, is your pen name satisfactory for the inclusion of your flash fiction to our weekly compilations? It’s fine with me if it’s fine with you. I’ll be name agreeable!

  3. Pingback: What’s in a Name? « Carrot Ranch Communications

  4. Norah says:

    Robert – which horse was that? I can only think of Robert the Rose Horse. I’m surprised they didn’t just go for Roberta or Robyn. Diana (or Di) is a nice name though. Great story.

    • I don’t know what the name of the horse was, but Robert had been decided upon when Mum was pregnant with me as they were convinced I was going to be a boy. I’m glad they didn’t stick an A on the end, and in the 50s, I don’t think Robyn would even have been recognised for a girl. I wouldn’t have minded being called Robyn though, come to think of it!

  5. floridaborne says:

    Very good. πŸ™‚

    I smiled after the 2nd sentence. My sister was named Bobby. When I was born, my dad wanted a boy, who would be named after him. My dad’s name was Robert. When my son was born, my husband wanted to name a boy Robert, so I named my son after my father (using the full name), so my son has 4 names. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

