Assume the position!

We set the alarms early as my appointment today was for 9am.
Although we only had 10 miles to travel, it would be in the middle of the rush hour, road works were in the offing, and the weather was horrible.

As things turned out, we arrived almost an hour before my appointment time, but I was registered on arrival and seen within 10 minutes.
ct-scannerI’ve never had a CT scan before but like everything else to do with my cancer treatment, I am approaching it with an open mind.
My logic is why worry about something when there is probably no need to, especially as it’s going to have to happen anyway!

The radiographers I saw today were lovely.
I had to lie down with my arms above my head and three little dots were marked on my skin. The girls then left the room and I was fed head first into the washing machine drum.
It was totally painless as it clicked and whirred away doing its spin cycle, and only took about a minute or so.
I imagined I was in a time tunnel and almost asked what day it was when I came out.
I didn’t have to pass completely through though, just up to my chest. To be honest, I was quite comfy!

When they’d said about having a tattoo, I’d envisaged something along the lines of a Predator triangulation.
predator-target I jokingly asked for butterflies, but apparently there is only one design available, which is freckles. I was dabbed with ink, then ‘pricked’ accordingly so have one dead centre on my chest and one under each arm.

That was it for today, and they will line me up accordingly for each treatment.
I am down for 20 sessions, 29th and 30th Dec, the 3-6th Jan, 9-13th Jan, 16-20th Jan and 23-26th Jan, so once the holidays are out of the way, it will be five sessions a week, with the final 4 being a super boost dose.

On the way home, we went into the chemist and bought the largest tub of water based moisturizer we could lay our hands on. I am definitely going to know what a BBQ chicken feels like, and although I might not exactly glow in the dark, I should sport a mild tan!
pink-butterfly-2

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

