Speed Food diary

The weekend has started by chucking it down with rain.
I walked the dog first thing and the three of us went up into town around lunchtime for the Christmas market…………. which isn’t on until tomorrow.
Last year we got the week wrong and missed it.

Never mind, donned in our fluorescent finery, Hubby dripped into the chemist to collect his prescription, then I went into the T word to get a few bits for dinner today.
I have noticed already that I do not seem to be shopping/spending very much this month, and no, I have not forgotten to put things into my spreadsheet.
Neither am I using stock from our cupboards but I guess with a change in the weather, things I had been buying have gone up in price out of all acceptable proportion (to me) and then of course Hubby has not been well.

Today I opted for an SP day, so protein and speed foods such as vegetables and fruit.
Not all fruit is speed food though, so kiwi, pineapple, blueberries, grapes, bananas and mango don’t count. Which is a shame as all I had in the boat in the fruit line was a mango and some bananas.
I was appalled at the cost of soft fruit in the T word so didn’t bother, but I did pick up some green beans for a pound, chestnut mushrooms for 69p, and a pack of peppers for 90p (no jokes about Peter Piper please). Oh, alright then.
peter-piperProtein for the day was chicken breast at £1.89 for two.

I’ve got plenty of rice in the cupboard, so I could prepare some to go with Hubby’s chicken, whereas I would have my veg.
Except it didn’t actually work out the way I’d hoped.
The chicken steamed perfectly in the frying pan with no problem.
The rice came to the boil OK so I turned it off to finish as normal.
I put my hard veg into a pan with 2 small potatoes cut in half, as they would only take about twenty minutes. I decided against peppers, but would add a couple of mushrooms later.

In the interim, I started to prepare my mango.
That needs to be rephrased to massacred as the damn stone wouldn’t come out, and instead of nice even slices or cubes in my bowl, I had a squished handful of lumpy flesh.

mango
That’s when it all started to fall apart. Either that or my inner clock sped up and nothing had been cooking for as long as I thought.
The rice, although having absorbed the liquid, was still hard.
The veg was also ‘firm’, so I had to put everything back on the burners again.
Despite adding more water to the rice, it all stuck to the bottom, but luckily I caught it before it started to burn.
I don’t mind my veggies ‘just done’, but squeaky beans aren’t my favourite, still it was only for me.
speed-food-1Photo: Speed Food One.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in diary, food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

