December: Christmas Thoughts 8

Hands up those of us who remember The Waltons.
They have a lot to answer for in my book as I was always so disappointed that my family wasn’t as close as they all were.
the-waltonsI loved the idea of a family Christmas, everyone gathered round the dining table, lots of chatter and laughter etc. Growing up, Christmas Day was for us and we had visitors or did the visiting on Boxing Day for tea. I can still smell those sausage rolls as they just came out of the oven and we tried to pinch one without burning our fingers, mouths, or getting caught by Mum!
In later years when we had our own homes, it seemed to be a bit of a fight to have the parents for Christmas as someone else always managed to get in first, so I’d ‘book’ mine in advance!
Our first house was too small to entertain, though we did have my in-laws over once when I cooked gammon and pineapple (MIL’s favourite) with cheesey cauliflower, but that was in the summer.  She seemed quite surprised I could cook, and the rest is history.
When we finally got a bigger house with a dining room, sadly my Dad was no longer with us to join in the celebration. That was the year I served MIL with a plate of roast potatoes and a cheese sandwich.
You can read about that here
cheese-sandwichI still think Christmas is a time for family and get togethers. To some extent, I miss the excitement of preparing the food, putting up the tree and surrounding it with parcels, the mad sound of ripping paper by excited fingers (and that was just the adults), the laughter at novelty gifts (also for adults) and the silliness of playing charades or some other game rather than fall asleep in front of the telly.
I don’t miss the indigestion from over eating, especially as the calorie count would definitely have been off the charts all those years ago.
However, I would not change my Christmases with Hubby for the world. Simple, fun and full of love, what more could I ask?

Thinking back to the Slimming World group Tuesday night and their anticipations of a half stone gain over the holidays, reminded me of a girl who was in the aerobics class I joined the year Hubby and I got married.
A former Slimmer of the Year complete with sash, photos and media coverage some years previously, she stayed for the diet bit, but never the exercise (which I thoroughly enjoyed until I hurt my back again).
After the festive season and our first weigh in of the New Year, she was surprised (and dismayed) to have put on over seventeen pounds in those two weeks.
She said she had been very careful with the sweet stuff, crisps, cakes, pudding , mince pies and all the Christmas dinner trimmings, so she was asked if she had been out celebrating.
It turned out that her gain was due mainly to her alcohol intake as she had socialized with her friends and family practically every day.

Alcohol, well Baileys actually, was another subject highlighted in our group this week.
One of the girls has decided not to buy a bottle of her favourite tipple because as she knew she wouldn’t measure it out, the bottle wouldn’t last very long, and the pounds would creep back on. She had also decided not to buy the yummies on offer either, like mince pies, stollen, panettone and Dundee cake for the same reasons.
The conversation turned to making choices, and how you could substitute one set of syns for another so that you could have your treats without feeling guilty. It was then mentioned that if you were going to syn, Baileys was probably more acceptable that juice laden (read fat) gravy, though I don’t think I would like Irish Cream over my dinner (dessert maybe).

christmas dinner baileys

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, diary, Memories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December: Christmas Thoughts 8

  1. It’s all about moderation but I admire people who know themselves well enough that they don’t buy the things they can’t control eating. I don’t like the feeling of overeating and that alone has helped me to not overindulge for the holidays. The other thing is that my mother is no longer around to tempt me with her delights. I too miss the “big family” concept of Christmas but I don’t miss the extra work, inevitable disagreements and money wasted. Perhaps the Waltons are best kept as a fantasy to visit mentally.

    • Hubby and I both know if I buy mince pies they won’t see outside the car park of the shop I bought them in, and biscuits or chocolate are just asking for trouble on these cold chilly evenings. I am deliberately not buying any Christmas fare until the last possible minute for two reasons:
      1. We won’t eat them and have to replace them.
      2. Hopefully they won’t be there to tempt me anyway.
      2a: If they are, maybe they’ll be discounted!
      I so agree about wasted money though, and no matter how hard we tried, we always managed to upset someone.

  2. Oh, the alcohol-induced weight gain! We used to go out every night in law school. I think more than a few people found themselves shedding weight as soon as we were done, once they found themselves drinking a lot less!

  3. I think not buying things is the trick. Someone just left a huge tin of Celebrations and a huge tin of Heroes in our office. I don’t like either (too sickly sweet) but have have eaten at least 36. Why oh why? Because they are there. Gah

Leave a Reply

