December : Christmas Thoughts 6

Today I am having a bone density scan to ascertain if I don’t/have the beginnings of/have osteoporosis as that will determine whether I need additional medication to increase my levels of calcium and vitamin D.
boneg1I’ve had X-rays before and been told this is a similar thing, so I’m not too worried.
To be honest, I am still feeling the relief of Friday’s news, so the prospect of a few more pills doesn’t faze me.

It is also weigh in tonight, and it will be interesting to see if my ‘fruit reduction’ experiment has borne………… well, fruit I suppose!
I’ve deliberately avoided getting on my scales (harder than one might think) but even if they didn’t reflect a poundage loss, I am definitely losing inches.

My sister has achieved her target (whatever it is) having lost however much it was, but when we last saw her, she had lost a lot in her face. Mine seems to be all over, but most noticeably my butt and legs, which I put down to all the walking I do. I still have a Buddha Belly, though it is diminishing, and Hubby says I am getting even more bony.
When I put my jeans on to go the oncologist appointment last week, I could almost pull them on without having to undo the zip or buttons. Time for a belt or braces I guess.

Which brings me to my next Christmas Thought.
santa-and-sledSanta is depicted as a rotund jolly fellow with a white snowy beard. Traditionally (at the moment that is) he wears a red fur-trimmed suit and hat,  black shiny belt and black boots, and drives a reindeer drawn sleigh.
He can also knock spots off any Parcel Service for the fastest overnight worldwide delivery.

I wonder if anyone would be so taken with his persona if he was as skinny as a rake, clean-shaven, dressed in jeans, tee shirt and open toe sandals (with or without socks), wore a crash helmet and drove a motorcycle with side car?

There have been countless films with Santas, so who in your opinion has been the most believable in their portrayal of the Big Guy?

santas
And what is your favourite festive movie?

Mine is ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ with James Stewart.
its-a-wonderful-lifeI cry every time.
Perfect.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in diary, Memories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to December : Christmas Thoughts 6

  1. colinandray says:

    Richard Attenborough in Miracle on 34th Street (1994) – My favorite Santa!

  2. foguth says:

    Good luck with your scan! I have osteoarthritis in my lower back, so my doctor has me taking extra D and Calcium…. don’t know if they help, but they don’t seem to harm.

  3. I have osteoporosis but it’s just barely borderline. I get injections every 6 months (mostly because the pills give me digestive issues). Good luck to you and I’m glad that they are checking that because a side effect of anti-estrogen medicines is bone loss.

  4. tildy1 says:

    White Christmas is my favorite!

  5. I cry at It’s a Wonderful Life every single time I watch it – and who knows how many times I have seen it by now!

Leave a Reply

