Post Early to be within Striking Distance

It’s that time of year when parcels tend to get lost, letters aren’t delivered when some disgruntled temporary Post Office employee decides to throw a sackful of mail into the nearest hedge (this was captured on CCTV some years ago) or worse, envelopes are plundered for cash or cheques enclosed as gifts therein.

The Royal Mail are planning a strike on Saturday Dec 3rd (source) in order to protect pensions, jobs, and branch closures.
Today, Hubby and I have got all our Christmas Cards in the post, together with a parcel sent by Recorded Delivery for my Mum. As none are to be sent abroad, hopefully they should all arrive at their correct destinations before the pending Strike takes place.

happy birthdayWith recent events and forthcoming hospital appointments, it’s unlikely we will be able to get down to visit. I have enclosed cards and a small gift for my sister, but for Mum, as with Bro in NZ who has already received his, I have sent her something unique and special.

The idea came to me from a choice comment made by my SIL in NZ, so Hubby and I put our heads together (well, he did the tweaking) to compile some of my poetry and put it in an album.
I got a photograph taken at one of those snap shot booths in the High Street, and put that in the front with a little message.
Mum’s first two poems are dedicated to her and my Dad. She has an old album from many years ago containing handwritten offerings from my school days and late 1970s, which by all accounts she keeps by her bedside. Some of those she may remember as I’ve rewritten a few or repeated them because they were ‘sweet’.

I’ve lost count of the number of poems I’ve written this year and last, but some of them I have been really pleased with, and one or two found hard to believe I’d actually written!
In all, we printed out about forty, but they did not include my Haikus, nor my nightmare ‘dark’ moments.

Enclosed with our few greetings cards this year (less than a dozen now) is the usual newsletter plus some odd sheets of my poems for family just as something different to the norm.

I’ll sign off with this one today which was written for 2012:

I think of Christmases long ago,
Holly, mulled wine and mistletoe,
Times have changed so much I know,
But we wish you a merry Christmas.

 Twinkling lights on the Christmas Tree,
Wonderful food for dinner and tea,
Oh how merry we all would be,
Together each year for Christmas.

 Presents were opened, one by one,
Thought and love packed into every one,
Happy and tired, when the day was done,
Warm memories of Christmas.

 Loved ones have moved far away,
Keeping in touch whenever they may
As time rushes on, day after day,
But we think of them all at Christmas.

 The street is quiet as we close the door,
Two of us and the dog, never no more,
Curling up by the fire with the ones I adore,
God Bless you all this Christmas.

 *****

christmas 2


 

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in Family, Just a thought, My life, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Post Early to be within Striking Distance

  1. sudershana says:

    That Christmas prose’s are so beautiful, thanks for sharing. A great read!

  2. kiwinana says:

    Beautiful poem, all the best, hope you have a merry christmas, from a kiwi blogger in New Zealand.

  3. Oh, what a wonderful poem! I love this gift as well – such a good idea!

Leave a Reply

