December Starts: Christmas thoughts 1

I envisage hundreds, if not thousands, of little fingers attacking Dec 1st on their Advent Calendars this morning.
adventThe countdown has officially started to the visit from the Big Guy in the Red Suit in just over three weeks, though merchandise and signs showing the number of Big Sleeps have been displayed for months.

Hubby and I love Christmas, not because we’ve got kids (we haven’t) or as an excuse to stuff ourselves silly with luxurious food (ie. Christmas pudding and mince pies).
It’s not the twinkling lights adorning the High Street (though they are lovely this year).
It’s not the prospect of carol singers knocking at your door (hardly on a private marina).
It’s not forthcoming snowy scenes and frosty mornings (we get them anyway).
It’s not the chance to visit and spend time with family  (we’re too widespread).
It’s not the excitement of exchanging gifts (we have our £10 dash and that’s fun).
So if these are not reasons (for us) to enjoy Christmas, what are?

To be honest, it’s something I can’t really put my finger on.
Christmases Past saw us doing our Santa Run Christmas Eve, then coming home, closing the door, and shutting everyone out until Boxing Day.
Christmas Day was for Us (and the dog),  the thought of not having to pander to anyone other than ourselves was the best gift.

Family Christmases are great though, the delight and wonder on younger kids faces make me hope the magic is still there for them in years to come. Everyone needs a little bit of magic, at any time of year actually, but Christmas is special even though there are minorities now trying to ‘ban it’ and restrict people following their faith in this godawful Political Correctness.

It wasn’t until several years ago that I realised reindeer were real. They had always been a magical and mythical creature to me, until I saw three in Boston (Lincs) market, munching straw in a stall on the High Street.
I got to touch one. I was in awe. It was truly Magic.
reindeer

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in animals and pets, current events, diary, My life, Personal Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to December Starts: Christmas thoughts 1

  1. Bernadette says:

    Thanks for reminding me of the magic of Advent Calendars. Smiling.

  2. I too love Christmas and I don’t have kids. I almost think it’s better without them – less stress, no visits to hellish toy warehouses, no sulks or tantrums… Adults can do the childlike-wonder thing just as well! I didn’t always love it, I had a few years when I hated it. But now, it’s something magical that i also can’t really put a finger on, although I do love presents… and food….and twinkly lights… I think a festival of lights in the bleak midwinter has always been something that humans need, to get through… I love the continuity of that, and the way that it started as a pagan festival to encourage the sun to come back (or something; I read about the origins once). I can’t imagine dark December without some kind of feast of lights, to be honest.

    • Oh yes, been there with the stress of kids (some 25 plus) not getting what they want and dissatisified with what they got. Years ago rather than waste money on adults’ gifts they’d only recycyle (we did too) or bin, we set our spend for them (and us as recipients) at £1 and the challenge was for the naffest gift. It was a total and brilliant success. I believe my sister still has her frog on a lily pad in a 2″ x 1″ tin box, though doubt it still ‘ribbits’.

  3. Forgot to mention (and probably shouldn’t) – I had reindeer meatballs and mash in Finland and they were amazing. Apologies…

  4. One chocolate filled advent calendar was not enough in my house 😜! I was given a mandate to get more.

    • When I was working and a section leader, I bought all of the members of my team advent calendars, all of which were different. They had a lot of fun comparing what goody was behind the door, and Mondays were terrific as they got three each!

Leave a Reply

