Seeing Blind

Earlier in the year I had a new pair of glasses.
You can read about the saga here and here

diabetes-awareI had my annual diabetes eye screening this morning, and if I had any doubts that either my eyes have changed dramatically in 10 months or the specs are just no good, it was confirmed today.
I was asked to read the chart as far down as I could.
With my right eye, I could manage the line second from the bottom.
With my left, it was five rows up.
That is worrying, especially as I was wearing my glasses and he hadn’t put the drops in yet.

For a while, I’ve been having a few problems focusing on my laptop screen and put it down to being tired, current events or simply poor light in the boat.
Trying to read labels on food products has also been a little trying and sometimes it’s been better taking my glasses off altogether.
eyesWalking in town on any sunny day, I have been blinded by the light (good 1976 Manfred Mann track that) and put it down to poor quality transition lenses. Funny though, I’d never had a problem before, and then I realised on previous pairs I’d always had a tint so perhaps that had been acting as a polarised filter.
In short, I have never been happy with these specs, and will not be going back for my forthcoming normal eye test. Should’ve gone somewhere else.

These days, a retina scan is included as part of the standard UK eye test, but the optician doesn’t put drops in your eyes like these guys do. Looking at my images (and for someone like me who has a phobia about eyeballs at the best of times), the back of my eyes are looking pretty clear and there are no little bleeds around the blood vessels.
I’ll get the official report in a couple of weeks.
diabetic-eye diabetic-eyes

A new prescription though will mean forking out again, unless of course that BOGOF pair I have in reserve are perfectly adequate, so I shall be going to my optician of choice well armed (or eyed, however you want to phrase it).

dame edna

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in change, diary, health, Just a thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seeing Blind

  1. foguth says:

    Do you have anything like http://www.zennioptical.com/ and/or do they ship to where you’re at? After getting a prescription from a good dr. and having appropriate measurements for fit, they have worked well for me and many in my family. I get yellow tinted readers to work on the computer – this filters out whatever sort of light the computer screen has, so I don’t get as tired reading as I would with untinted readers.

    • Thanks Jeanne. We can get a prescription from the optician but are not obligated to get it filled at the same place. I can have almost any colour tint on glasses, but the transitions (formerly reactalight or photogrey where they darken in sunlight) are limited to either brown or pink. I’ve been recommended an excellent optician locally and as I get my eye tests free, I’m going to go in and have a chat. I will bear this in mind too.

      • foguth says:

        Prior to going, check out the prescription form you need to fill out online – in addition to the measurements they take of your eyes, there are ones for where your pupil is centered. IF you know what you need, it isn’t difficult, but quite intimidating otherwise. You can get photogray, sunglasses, everything, but I’m not sure they deliver to your area…. that said, I also suspect it is possible, which is why I’m suggesting them.

      • I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

