It’s been a funny old day

Both of us were restless last night, and poor Hubby ended up getting out of bed and making himself a cuppa around midnight.
Since my op, I’ve been unable to sleep on my side as normal, so have to lie on my back. The bed on the boat is smaller than your standard double, though if we get the angle right and her ladyship stays at the bottom,  we sleep pretty well.
The relief at yesterday’s good news has had it effect on both of us, Hubby unable to switch off, and me tossing and turning with thoughts of what might have been.
He was therefore unable to get back into bed as I was doing my starfish impression, and thus got out the sleeping bag and slept on the bench.

We were glad not to have any major plans today, so did the washing and got back to the boat just as the skies opened. It’s been a while since we’ve had such torrential rain during the day, so I’ve been packing up some Christmas presents for the post early next month and getting my act together. Although I made all those cards a little while ago, I still have my ‘specials’ to do, so I’m going to do those tomorrow together with a few more birthday cards as I seem to be a little low on stock.
cards-oct-13-2The guy next door was working on the electrics of his boat today and had a problem so asked Hubby for a hand. There was indeed a major problem which had tripped the RCD, it transpired that the extension lead was full of water so Hubby got a belt when he connected up. All is Ok though, and everything is working as it should be.

With the sun out by 2pm, we decided to go out and do a bit of shopping. True to form, we couldn’t find exactly what we were looking for, and by 3.30 realised we hadn’t had any lunch so picked up a sandwich.
We were at the supermarket by 4 where I got my letter in the post to my Mum for collection at 5.15. We bought chicken breasts for dinner but will have them tomorrow as it was too late to do a full cooked meal which would steam us up with condensation.
number clockWith the clocks going back a few weeks ago, we are finding it difficult to judge time.
We wake up around the usual time, but as the day progresses, I seem to be out by half an hour or so. Tonight I thought it was only 7.30 when in fact it had gone 8 o’clock. Hubby on the other hand thinks it’s later than it actually is.
We have another band of rain heading our way, so we hope to get Maggie out for her final wee before it hits. Unlike in the house, this time change doesn’t seem to affect her very much. Her routine is the same regardless of the time or weather unfortunately.
blow-dried-dogPhoto: blow drying the dog! She loves the hairdryer.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Maggie, weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s been a funny old day

  1. Bernadette says:

    Hope you feel comfort soon.

  2. scifihammy says:

    It’s very hard trying to sleep in a different position. Hopefully you will get back to normal eventually. I hope you sleep better tonight. 🙂

  3. lbeth1950 says:

    I missed yesterday’s post. GlAd you had good news.

Leave a Reply

