Getting rid of that Vital Inch

pink-ribbon-2Humphrey apparently measured an inch and was accompanied by a quartet on his removal. I shed a few tears today when they told us that they’d got all of him and the four lymph nodes also taken were all clear.
That means additional surgery is definitely not on the cards, and I’ve come home with more booklets on procedures, treatments and further tests, so there is a fair amount to digest.

There is still a lot unknown about cancers, but medicine is coming along in leaps and bounds trying to find out as much as possible.
We have agreed for a sample to be sent for a ONCOTYPE DX test, which will analyse the genes of the removed cancer to ascertain the likelihood of it returning and whether or not chemotherapy would be beneficial. As there is a history of breast cancer on my Dad’s side of the family, we’re not taking any chances, and if the results come back putting me in a high risk category, then I will be having chemo sessions over several months followed by radiotherapy and medication.
I will be sent an appointment with an oncologist in the next fortnight who will have the results and we can discuss my course of treatment accordingly.

If chemo is not required, then I shall have 5 radiotherapy sessions every week for six weeks, plus be on medication (I have a leaflet on Anastrozole) for five years. I will also have a mammogram every September for five years before reverting to the three yearly screening.

The Consultant Surgeon drained off quite a lot of liquid today and I could almost feel my boob deflating as the pressure eased! Still, I’m doing everything right and will be looking for ways to increase my intake of calcium and vitamin D without screwing up my SW programme too much. I’ve sent a text message to our group leader for some help on that and will be going through the SW bible and the booklets given me today about diet.

pink-angelI also have a very important Thank You letter to write to the nurse who mentioned I qualified for those first 12 weeks free membership at Slimming World.
She has been our Angel.
Hubby and I are convinced that if I hadn’t joined and lost some weight, Humphrey would still be a part of me and not lying dismembered in a petri dish somewhere else.

Small.
Treatable.
Curable.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Getting rid of that Vital Inch

  1. foguth says:

    That is EXCELLENT NEWS!

  2. colinandray says:

    Great news Di. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  3. scifihammy says:

    Phew! Very glad to hear this. Not surprised you were emotional.

  4. cindy knoke says:

    What an excellent healing attitude you have. Inspirational! You have three year screening mamos? We have them every year although I’ve heard this may change. Sending you healing thoughts and prayers~

    • Thank you so much for your positive thoughts and good wishes. Generally speaking, it’s standard practice for a mammogram every three years. I had one last October which came back clear, so Humphrey was an early hitchhiker and is now in that outer Galaxy in the Sky Lab.

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Good news and am sending you a basket of blessings!

Leave a Reply

