The Lady in Red

I met this woman who is nearly always wearing a red coat, early last year in the laundry room. I was folding my washing as I took it out of the dryer and she made a big thing about people ‘not bothering to clear out the fluff from the filter’ as she pushed in front of me to do it.
Did I say I was folding up my washing as I was taking it OUT of the dryer?
Emptying said filter is always the last thing I do as I check to make sure I’ve left nothing behind in the drum.
I was annoyed, but kept quiet.

My second encounter was when I wanted to do some washing and had nipped into the ladies first, leaving my laundry bag and washing liquid on top of the machine.
When I came out, they had been moved to the bench and she had loaded the machine with her own.
‘Oh,’ she said. ‘I thought you’d finished.’
do-i-careBitch is too kind a word and an insult to my canine friends.

The third time we crossed paths was when my washing was in the dryer already, and she’d put her first wash load in. Knowing I had a good half hour on the clock, I took Maggie for a walk.
When I came back, my washing was in the basket on the floor and she was sitting at the bench on her computer having put hers in the dryer.
Mine wasn’t completely dry, so I was fuming as I now had to wait until she had finished hers (an hour) before I could put mine back in, though I accepted it was my own fault for leaving it ‘on trust’ sotospeak.
If I see her anywhere near the laundry when mine’s in, I now stay with it!

There seems to be an unwritten etiquette about laundry here insomuch as if your washing is dry and someone has been waiting to use the dryer, it is not unusual to find yours neatly folded in the basket. This is perfectly acceptable to all, but if your washing is not dry, it is a little upsetting to find it damp and unceremoniously dumped when someone else (just her by the way) has gatecrashed.

This lady is now spreading her annoying tentacles as today Hubby discovered the probable cause as to why we had no internet connection yesterday until late in the evening.
red-squidThey have just moved their widebeam into our basin, and had a telephone connection for broadband on their original mooring (this is not Mr and Mrs Sky, they move in next week which will be another blip in the marina headache).
Now they, like us and the other liveaboards this side, will be reliant on the marina’s wifi system for their internet service.
We’re not greedy, and don’t mind sharing. But this woman has no less than 3 computer type appliances, all of which she appears to have going at the same time. Hubby explained to her that reception was a little iffy over here but normally OK provided not too many people/appliances were trying to log in at the same time. However, she was likely to not be very popular if she took everyone else’s share every day.
She didn’t like that one little bit and said that some of the other residents had mentioned to her about getting a ‘dongle’ for the interim.
Normally, Hubby would be helpful and suggest various methods to improve the signal and reception, but he’d had run ins with her too, and can’t tolerate those who believe they are Top Dog and everyone should pander to their requirements.
Instead, he left her with ‘Yes, you do that, it would probably be better for you anyway.’
Meaning ‘Get one, and leave the rest of us alone.’
leave-us-alone
It’s gonna be a long winter!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in life afloat, lifestyle, Marina, miscellaneous, Opinions, people and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Lady in Red

  1. Sounds like she’s never learned how to share anything!

  2. DM says:

    Some people’s kids… She needs to go back to school and learn her manners. I already don’t like her, and I’m several thousand miles removed.

    • It’ll be interesting to see how things develop between them and Mr and Mrs Sky actually. One thing about liveaboards here is that no-one has kids unless they’re visitors. Pets yes, but kids? Nope.

  3. colinandray says:

    Sadly………. just like buying a house, you cannot choose your neighbors!

  4. Pingback: Take Seven! | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

