Assault of the Nuts

Hubby has a theory that the reason I got that horrendous cramp yesterday was due to a salt deficiency.
Now according to the expert nutritionists et al, too much salt (amongst other things) is bad for our hearts, and we should limit our adult daily intake to 6g, or about a teaspoon.

rdaNothing to do with health issues at the time, but I stopped adding salt to my cooking years ago. I’d sprinkle some on chips, a boiled egg, or even bland lettuce if I’d run out of mayo, but my intake was attained mainly via a variety of crisps or peanuts.

Hubby adores cashews, in fact big, fat salted cashew nuts, so I could blame him for my sudden craving for them in years gone by when peanuts tended to make me cough.
Obviously with SW, such joyous edible delights things are to be avoided if at all possible, or counted as syns accordingly.

25g of salted peanuts range between 7 and 8 syns depending on brand.
25g of salted cashews are around 7½ to 8 syns.
nuts

Bearing in mind that £1.49 will buy me a 150g bag of lovely salted cashew nuts from a supermarket, that is nearly 50 syns a bag , and believe me I would have no difficulty at all getting through one on my own!

Like sugar, I rely on takeout establishments for our salt. Those neat little half inch square sachets are ideal for adding to instant mash (if I remember that is and FYI instant mash is counted as FREE in SW provided no butter, cheese or milk is added) or a little in a tomato and boiled egg sandwich.
Most of the time though I don’t use it, so there could be some truth in this.

I therefore splashed out £1.49 and purchased a bag of cashew nuts.
They are in the cupboard, and I am ignoring their plaintive pleas of Eat Me as I have tried something else first.
aliceWe had our second day stew yesterday evening, and I added an extra stock cube.
Stock cubes contain salt, and today, the cramp has not been so bad.

Note to self:
Wonder if the cashews can last until Christmas?

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' is now a 41 foot narrow boat. It's different and having swan and duck families for neighbours is much more relaxing on the eye not to mention the ears!
This entry was posted in food, health, Just a thought and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Assault of the Nuts

  1. Ritu says:

    I love to graze on nuts so realised I can’t even start with the HexB allowance amount… I would just get the taste and crave more!!!

  2. Victo Dolore says:

    I try not to give any medical advice to anybody (you should as a rule not take medical advice from an anonymous blogger even if they do say they are a doctor) but often cramps are due to magnesium deficiency. Nuts are high in magnesium…

Leave a Reply

