You’re not alone

I learned today that a friend of an acquaintance is going in for the same surgery I had on Friday.
Apparently, rather than focus on the words Small and Treatable, she is worrying about it but afraid to talk to anyone about her fears, especially her family and friends.
pink-butterfly
Years ago, the very word Cancer was terrifying, instilling fear and negativity into those diagnosed. They saw it as an automatic death sentence, treatments almost as horrendous as the disease.
I had my suspicions as soon as Hubby found Humphrey. Those weeks of waiting for consultant appointments, biopsy results and surgery were probably the longest of my life.
Yes, I was afraid, having lost my best friend, two aunts and a cousin to it.

But these days the story is so different, and I encourage anyone going through it to talk about it. I did through my blog and a few selected friends, and the support has been overwhelming.
Medicine has come a long way in cancer awareness and treatments, and although I don’t know what else is lined up in my case yet, I know I am not alone in this.
My reasons for not telling my Mum were to protect her from latching on to the C word and fretting over it. I have told her I’ve had an operation, but not gone into any details. Whether she has mentioned it to my sister, I don’t know. I haven’t heard anything from either of them (which isn’t unusual), so I doubt it, but I’m not worried as I’m surrounded by positivity here .

It’s surprising how many people have suffered cancer in one form or another with positive results and full recovery.
As an example: I bumped into one of the residents in the supermarket the other day who reached out to hug me. I turned sideways and said ‘not my right side’, adding I’d had a lumpectomy for breast cancer.
‘Oh I had one of those years ago!’ she said. ‘Bloody hurt when they put the wire in, I bet.’
It was just so matter of fact, as if we were discussing carrots and cauliflowers. She has one of the bubbliest personalities I have ever come across, and comparing notes sotospeak was one helluva therapy session.

Small. Treatable. Curable.
PMA. Positive Mental Attitude.
I shall be thinking of this lady on Friday. She is not alone.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in health, My life, Opinions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You’re not alone

  1. Ritu says:

    PMA is a great thing😊

  2. Elyse says:

    One of my best friends had a lumpectomy on Friday. Like you, she has a terrific attitude. Well done.

    I also agree about talking about it. No matter what your problem may be, it’s always good to know you’re not alone.

  3. Yep, that wire did bloody hurt! But that was the most primitive part of my treatment. Small, treatable and found early. All good.

Leave a Reply

